Watermelon Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Is definitely more marmalade like than a preserve. I found previous reviews very helpful. We halved the lemon as suggested and added 2 small velencia oranges with rinds. Leave uncovered during simmer to reduce until desired thickness. Our first batch produced 3 half pints. The fruit did not break down and the final product is very chunky with bits of candied watermelon among the rind pieces. Overall, very good but the recipe is missing many important elements and hints. Thank u previous reviewers, very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi Wilber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Great recipe but I made a few adaptions based on prior reviews. I used about 2.5 lbs of watermelon rind ( was about 1 1/4 of a small sugar baby watermelon), 4.5 cups of sugar, 2 navel oranges thinly sliced on a mandolin( entire orange added), 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 tsp powered ginger and 1 cup of watermelon juice ( I blended some watermelon pink flesh and strained through a sieve reserving 1 cup of liquid). I brought it to a slow boil with lid on to prevent the preserve from developing crystals later and cooked it for about 2 hours until it had reduced to about 1/2 stirring about every 15 minutes until it was thick and syrupy and did not run after being placed on a cold plate after about a minute ( did not use a thermometer). Then processed in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes. It came out delicious like a marmalade. With the adaptions I made 5 1/2 pints. Plan to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Too much lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
i agree there's too many lemons. my grandmother was famous for her watermelon preserves, and made it almost exactly the same, but with only one lemon, and about 1/2 tsp of cloves. as kids, we couldn't wait to get to mawmaw gussie's house for our treat of fresh biscuits, watermelon preserves, and cafe au lait! she lived in lafayette, louisiana, btw...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Just finished making these. Got five half pints. They look beautiful so far and they are all sitting except for one that is in the fridge for us to try tonight. I tried a little from the pot and it was delish. I followed the recommendation to use lemon and orange and can't wait to try this on some toast. Does anyone on here have a recommendation on where to store it and for how long? Did anyone leave it a while before opening the jar? I haven't canned in a while so I was hoping to get some advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This did not end up tasting at all watermelon-y to us, just very strongly lemon flavored. I love the idea, but in reality, it was a big disappointment to my family. If you like lemon a lot, you might want to give it a try, but if you are looking for a melon flavored preserve, this probably is not the recipe for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This made 2-1/2 pints for me. They set like preserves should...not too thick, more like a thick pancake syrup perhaps. The flavor is great and my dad liked them. Of course, so far, everyone has turned a nose up at the thought of them...but that makes more for me!!! Was my very first time making these....easy to do. I am making a 2nd batch of a different recipe to compare...though the other didn't mention leaving any of the flesh part of the melon, so I didn't. will have to see which batch I prefer. So far it is this one...simply for ease and least ingredients. Now to compare flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmartcookie
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
With adjustment for cooking only 1 hour (even at high elevation, 7200 ft.), this came out just fine. Doesn't taste a lot like watermelon - more like citrus "marmelade"; but that could be because the watermelon I used wasn't that good to begin with - which is why I used it! As recipe is written, it only made a little more than 3 half-pints. I made the first batch with 2 lemons, 1 orange. I'm now cooking a 2nd batch, which I doubled, using 1 grapefruit, 2 oranges and 2 lemons. I ran all the citrus through the food processor using the grating attachment. Seeds, membranes mostly stayed above the grater; but additional seeds and membranes can be easily picked out of the pot while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This is a good recipe for a different kind of preserve. It is beautiful to look at. I made a few changes though, and would make a few more the next time I make it. First, I used one orange and one lemon. Second, I only simmered for one hour and it was perfect. It set up beautifully. It has a good flavor but it is really more of a marmalade. The other thing is that when I was through simmering, the lemon and orange were still pretty big so I took my kitchen shears and cut through the mixture until the peel was nice size; I will do this before the simmering next time. Other than that, if you are looking for a "different" recipe, then you should definitely try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
I think this recipe is wrong - it seems as though the mixture should boil for only 1 hour. I followed the directions to a T and after 2 hours the mixture was very burned. I think with only 1 hour of boil time it would be perfect. May try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States