Watermelon Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
These are really cool looking and pretty good tasting. My suggestions are to add more water to the Strawberry Jello. So, they will have the texture of a frozen pop instead of frozen Gel and also add the choc. chips to Strawberry Jello BEFORE you put it in the freezer and to make sure you FREEZE the cool whip/cream chz mixture BEFORE you add the Lime Jello. Because, if you dont you will have floaties at the base of the popcicle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Wow, these are delicious and easy to make. The creamy middle filling is really good and makes these extra special! The only slight change I made was instead of cool whip, I made homemade whip cream because I was out of cool whip and I didn't want to run to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've now had to make these almost EVERY WEEKEND since Memorial Day when I first tried this recipe! Arrrgg! Now my 78 year father-in-law bugs my hubby when there are no watermelon pops in the freezer! Go figure! To those that had difficulty with "floating", try again. Making anything with Jello is not art, it is SCIENCE! A few tips to make it a QUICK and EASY dessert. Put three bowls out with 1/3 cup sugar in each. Have 2 measuring cups with 1/2 c. each cold water ready. To Bowl A: add strawberry jello. To Bowl B: add lime jello. To Bowl C: add cream cheese. Bowl A & B - add boiling water and stir until dissolved. Put three ice cubes into each measuring cup of cold water. Add ice water to Bowl A & B. Stir until ice is melted. Stick Bowl B in FREEZER. Have eight, 6 oz Dora the Explorer paper cups ready! (Hubby thinks they're too cute). Now, add 1/8 cup red jello (Bowl A) to each cup. You might have to level a little between the cups. Stick in freezer for at least 20 minutes. Pull cups out. Pull green jello out, stir and put in FRIDGE. Mix choco chips into red jello with plastic spoon. Mix up the sugar and cheese in Bowl C. and fold in whipped topping. Add couple of tablespoons of cheese mixture to each cup. Turn the cup as you push down the cheese with a small plastic spoon. This will make a tight and even layer. Put spoons in each. Grab green jello and finish off the pops. With 6 oz. cups, this will take a minimum of 5 hours to freeze. 15 min to assmbl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SUZYQTX
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These were a huge hit with my family! I read the reviews before making them, so I tried both ways with the choc. chips. I did some putting the chips in the strawberry jello before freezing (all the chips sink to the bottom of the cup, so they will be in the top of the pop.) The rest I made according to the recipe - putting the choc. chips in after freezing the strawberry layer. I prefer this method - but I did stir the chips in and then used a bamboo skewer to move them around and push them toward the outside of the cup. If you put them in during this step, they will be in different levels of the strawberry jello. To avoid "floaties", be sure to make the lime jello first, and make sure it has slightly congealed (not pourable, but has to be spooned on top) before putting it on top of the cream cheese layer. This way, the cream cheese cannot "float" into that layer. The kids and adults alike loved the taste, and I'm making them again for our cookout tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These were so easy to make and very refreshing. I made them for Memorial Day and they were enjoyed by adults as well as kids. I used plastic cups because I did not have paper cups and it worked fine. When taking out of the freezer to serve, roll these between your hands and push up on the bottom of the cup and they slide right out. I wish these recipes would tell you how much of everything to put in the cups so here is what I did. I used approximately 2 and a half Tbsp. of red jello mix in the bottom of the cups. I put them in the freezer for 10 minutes and then stirred in the chocolate chips. I then used approximately 2 Tbsp. of the cream cheese cool whip mix and used a teaspoon to spread it in the cups. I then used 2 and a half Tbsp. of the green jello and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The pops were really good.I ommited the chocolate chips.I froze mine a little longer and they do hold together really well.My guys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were great - sugar free jello will also work and is great for kids. I thought the chocolate chips were really good in them. For 4th of July, we plan on making these again with Berry Blue Jello and White Chocolate Chips as the stars! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Just made these tonight for a party tomorrow. Really wish I had read the other reviews. The recipe is poorly written. I had to guess how much of each layer ingredient to add to the cups. My suggestions: Mix up the strawberry layer first. Freeze the pops after adding the whipped cream, before adding lime layer. I will update tomorrow on taste. Update: These are really refreshing on a hot afternoon. I'm going to make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Instead of using chocolate chips I will try raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Didn't love this but kids and Hubby thought they were great. Fiddly to make with having to freeze each layer and pipe the cream cheese layer into the pop. I didn't add the sugar to the jelly and used whipped cream instead of whipped topping (added the sugar to that instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States