Watermelon Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Fun to make with the kids and super adorable presentation. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've now had to make these almost EVERY WEEKEND since Memorial Day when I first tried this recipe! Arrrgg! Now my 78 year father-in-law bugs my hubby when there are no watermelon pops in the freezer! Go figure! To those that had difficulty with "floating", try again. Making anything with Jello is not art, it is SCIENCE! A few tips to make it a QUICK and EASY dessert. Put three bowls out with 1/3 cup sugar in each. Have 2 measuring cups with 1/2 c. each cold water ready. To Bowl A: add strawberry jello. To Bowl B: add lime jello. To Bowl C: add cream cheese. Bowl A & B - add boiling water and stir until dissolved. Put three ice cubes into each measuring cup of cold water. Add ice water to Bowl A & B. Stir until ice is melted. Stick Bowl B in FREEZER. Have eight, 6 oz Dora the Explorer paper cups ready! (Hubby thinks they're too cute). Now, add 1/8 cup red jello (Bowl A) to each cup. You might have to level a little between the cups. Stick in freezer for at least 20 minutes. Pull cups out. Pull green jello out, stir and put in FRIDGE. Mix choco chips into red jello with plastic spoon. Mix up the sugar and cheese in Bowl C. and fold in whipped topping. Add couple of tablespoons of cheese mixture to each cup. Turn the cup as you push down the cheese with a small plastic spoon. This will make a tight and even layer. Put spoons in each. Grab green jello and finish off the pops. With 6 oz. cups, this will take a minimum of 5 hours to freeze. 15 min to assmbl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Disappointing. I followed the directions exactly. The first thing I don't understand is that the recipe tells you to make the lime first even though it is added last. Secondly, even though I decided to freeze the cream cheese mixture before adding the lime on top, I still got floaties. Thirdly, after I served it, my husband said the jello portion was pretty bad. The cream cheese part was alright. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Velez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I don't think I'll make this again. I followed the directions and even took some advice from others to freeze each layer before adding the next. After 6 hours in the freezer, they were still soft. The kids had to eat them in a bowl. The flavor was yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and fat free Cool Whip. Still tastes great. Do need to freeze cream middle in cup before adding green mixture. Good recipe for the kiddies to have fun with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefsteph
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I just put these in a muffin tin instead of cups. To make it healthier, I cut out the sugar, and used vanilla yogurt instead of the cream cheese mixture. We still thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsteph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Everyone loved the watermelon pops. I had a PTO party at my house and even the adults loved how they looked and tasted. I follow the directions but my first layer was frozen to quick for my chips to sink. I had to push them down into the jello before I added the next layer. I think I will check them at about 10 or 15 minutes.I used a medium size scoop for the white layer and that worked perfect! I didn't have any of the mixture where I didn't want it. I taped the cups to make sure that there weren't any gaps between the two layers. By the time I finished my white layer my green was starting to set, but it still worked out fine. My daughter said she would like it better without the chocolate chips but my son loved the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Cute idea but not worth it. First, you need to make sure your strawberry jello is set enough to add the chips so they don't all sink but more importantly, so your whipped cream mixture will not sink. Make sure the whipped cream is spread even across the red before adding the green. If any of the whipped cream mixture is exposed when you freeze it, it will have that yucky rubbery texture. You also need to make sure that you wipe the cup clean after the cream mixture or else it'll look sloppy. Perhaps it was me but only a few of the cups came out right. I won't make it again but kudos to those of you who made it work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
the first thing i noticed is that when i went to stir in the chocolate chips the red jello was too firm. also it took a lot longer han 3 hours for the pops to set up enough to take the paper cups off. otherwise, the poops turned out great they ent over extremely well at my church memorial day party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were great - sugar free jello will also work and is great for kids. I thought the chocolate chips were really good in them. For 4th of July, we plan on making these again with Berry Blue Jello and White Chocolate Chips as the stars! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States