Watermelon Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Cute idea, but not as easy as they sound. The chocolate chips simply dropped to the bottom (I don't have time and/or desire to babysit the pops to add the chips at "just the right time!") I think I used too large of paper cups, since I didn't get the thicker looking layers as in the photo, or as many pops as the recipe states. However, the kids did like them and they were all eaten up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYDANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Frozen jello is not that atractive. Pretty labor intensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Kemmerer, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Didn't love this but kids and Hubby thought they were great. Fiddly to make with having to freeze each layer and pipe the cream cheese layer into the pop. I didn't add the sugar to the jelly and used whipped cream instead of whipped topping (added the sugar to that instead).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
These were really cute! I froze inbetween layers which caused problems when removing the popsicles from the molds. The red layer did not touch the stick so it almost always broke off in the mold, that is when I managed to get them off on the stick and it didn't just rip out!. I think I will try adding more water next time though...too JELLO-y for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I didn't think the taste and texture were that great, but the children loved them, so I may make them again. The pops are SO cute. They'd be great to make for a children's party. One thing I found was that they look better if you press the chocolate chip "seeds" far to the bottom and outer edges of the pop. You will want those to show in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
these were very easy to make i put the red mixture in the freezer while i made the cream and the green mixtures so it could set a little faster the the chocolate chips were easy to mix in and they looked great over all the kids loved them and the were very simple to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
I was disappointed by this recipe. I used a plastic bag with the corner cut off to add the cream layer which made it very easy and I thought the cream layer was yummy but I really disliked the texture of the jello layers. The flavor was fine (it tasted like jello) but it was rubbery and chewy. If I tried it again I would definitely use more water or maybe just use similarly colored koolaid or fruit juice. I also think that it would have been better off without the chocolate chips. It was hard to get them where you want them without them sinking to the bottom or getting stuck at the top and they didn't affect the taste or appearance of the final product enough to make it worth the effort. That being said my son loved them and I made them for him so that's what was important
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe was such an annoyance! By the time I was done with it I was sick of it! The freeze times that the recipe states are much too short. Add 1 hour to each stage of pouring, I'd say. I give it 2 stars and not 1 because it actually tastes really good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Fun to make with the kids and super adorable presentation. Tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I've now had to make these almost EVERY WEEKEND since Memorial Day when I first tried this recipe! Arrrgg! Now my 78 year father-in-law bugs my hubby when there are no watermelon pops in the freezer! Go figure! To those that had difficulty with "floating", try again. Making anything with Jello is not art, it is SCIENCE! A few tips to make it a QUICK and EASY dessert. Put three bowls out with 1/3 cup sugar in each. Have 2 measuring cups with 1/2 c. each cold water ready. To Bowl A: add strawberry jello. To Bowl B: add lime jello. To Bowl C: add cream cheese. Bowl A & B - add boiling water and stir until dissolved. Put three ice cubes into each measuring cup of cold water. Add ice water to Bowl A & B. Stir until ice is melted. Stick Bowl B in FREEZER. Have eight, 6 oz Dora the Explorer paper cups ready! (Hubby thinks they're too cute). Now, add 1/8 cup red jello (Bowl A) to each cup. You might have to level a little between the cups. Stick in freezer for at least 20 minutes. Pull cups out. Pull green jello out, stir and put in FRIDGE. Mix choco chips into red jello with plastic spoon. Mix up the sugar and cheese in Bowl C. and fold in whipped topping. Add couple of tablespoons of cheese mixture to each cup. Turn the cup as you push down the cheese with a small plastic spoon. This will make a tight and even layer. Put spoons in each. Grab green jello and finish off the pops. With 6 oz. cups, this will take a minimum of 5 hours to freeze. 15 min to assmbl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States