Watermelon Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Three stars meaning "Good, but average" in my book, I found this not quite up to that. It is watery with not much flavor, and certainly not what one would expect from the title - therefore, two stars if prepared strictly sticking to the recipe. I guess a good word for it might be "wimpy." So I made it a second time, this time substituting strawberry yogurt for the milk, adding more watermelon than called for, and a handful of ice cubes. Still thinner, of course, than what one would consider a milkshake, but much improved - very refreshing, not too sweet and with a lot more flavor. Four stars with the tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Processed this using about 2 cups of melon, 1 cup milk, 2 tsp Splenda, and it tasted like weak watermelon milk...not good. I then added about 1 more cup of melon, some crushed ice, and blended again. I would have given this 3 stars, but in all fairness to the recipe, this watermelon did not have a lot of flavor, and I think that affected the outcome of the shake. I don't think this ever will be what I consider a true milkshake (without maybe adding a scoop of ice cream??), but it's not bad, and really is low in calories and fat (unlike most milkshakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Per other reviewers, I used more watermelon. After blending I had 2 cups of watermelon puree. I only used a cup of milk and added a tablespoon of white sugar. My final thoughts: good. Especially if you're watermelon has started to go mushy. And I think that may be the only time I mix up this drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
My 2 boys, ages 3 and 4, loved it, and even my 4-year-old daughter, who never likes my smoothies, loved it! I give it 4 stars instead of 5 because it is very thin. I would love to try it with frozen melon next time, or add some yogurt, and see if that makes it better. Also, I added a splash of vanilla extract, which gave it a bit of an "ice cream" flavor that my 3 kids liked. Come to think of it, I might have to freeze a whole lot of watermelon chunks to get us through the winter, if it means they'll drink this smoothie with breakfast to get them all additional servings of fruit and calcium!! I am most impressed that Picky Daughter just slurped her cup empty, asked for seconds, and asked if we can have it every day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
My kids LOVE this. They have it all summer and won't believe me that we can't have it in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Great watermelon taste but needed something more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
If you want to, add a scoop of watermelon sherbert, it adds density and sweetness. :) ~ Dolphinness and Pandaness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Very easy to make and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy888100

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: North Troy, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
If you are looking for a recipe for a watermelon milkshake...look no further, folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastyTreats

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States