Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Thank you so much. The tomato is too acidic for me, and though I'm not a fan of cold soups, I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
All the adults who tried this gazpacho enjoyed it very much. The children didn't care for it, but I didn't really expect them to. This is an excellent, refreshing soup. I imagine if it were all pureed, it would also make a nice drink (a la V-8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was fabulous! I made it for a large group today and they all loved it. I basically tripled the recipe but I used 2 English cukes (they were huge), about 4 cups of O.J., 2 jalapeno peppers, 1 each of yellow, red and orange bell peppers, 1 small red onion, and cilantro. The ingredients were the same but I adjusted the amounts a bit for the larger recipe. I also let it sit overnight and it was good advice. It mellowed a lot. The taste was wonderful and refreshing and it's now in my favorite recipes folder. Try this one. You really can't describe the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! Really yummy and a great way to use part of a watermelon. There is always so much watermelon - now I have a great way to use it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I thought it sounded weird and after I tasted the watermelon that I bought (which was mediocre) I didn't think this would be good, but I was wrong. It was very refreshing and lighter than a normal gazpacho. I paired it with chili and that was perfect! I followed the recipe except that once it was done it was a little too chunky for my taste and put it back in the blender for a very quick spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe...I will definitely make it again. Only change I might make is add a second jalapeno...I like my food spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This recipe goes down like gangbusters everytime I make it for a summer BBQ. Everyone begins by being incredibly skeptical; "watermelon soup with GARLIC???" but ends up raving. The second time I made it I added 2 extra cloves of garlic and used 3 cups of watermelon and OJ. The taste effect was negligable. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I cut the recipe in half & I added two small homegrown serrano peppers (omtting the jalapeno). I also used an orange bell pepper because that's what I had. Pam's recipes are great so I never make many changes. This was really good & refreshing & paired perfectly w/ Grilled Honey Shrimp & Grilled Asparagus w/ Orange Wasabi Sauce. Thansk for another great recipe Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
AWESOME! Fast, easy, and delicious. I substituted peach/white cranberry juice instead of orange juice, which probably made a big difference in taste, but it was still a great summer dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Perfect for a first course on a hot summer evening, or even as a light lunch. Also, fits into my "this recipe is incredibly easy but is so tasty that people think you truly slaved away over it" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States