Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
i tried this recipe in the hopes that it would make me like watermelon...it didnt but it is an interesting take on regular gazpacho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I thought it sounded weird and after I tasted the watermelon that I bought (which was mediocre) I didn't think this would be good, but I was wrong. It was very refreshing and lighter than a normal gazpacho. I paired it with chili and that was perfect! I followed the recipe except that once it was done it was a little too chunky for my taste and put it back in the blender for a very quick spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Dinsmore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Excellent recipe...I will definitely make it again. Only change I might make is add a second jalapeno...I like my food spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This recipe goes down like gangbusters everytime I make it for a summer BBQ. Everyone begins by being incredibly skeptical; "watermelon soup with GARLIC???" but ends up raving. The second time I made it I added 2 extra cloves of garlic and used 3 cups of watermelon and OJ. The taste effect was negligable. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
All the adults who tried this gazpacho enjoyed it very much. The children didn't care for it, but I didn't really expect them to. This is an excellent, refreshing soup. I imagine if it were all pureed, it would also make a nice drink (a la V-8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn L
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I was intrigued by the concept of the cold soups.. so I decided to give this a try. I used Parsley (it was on hand) and orange bell peppers (they were on sale)... it came out very well, very cool and mildly sweet flavors. The notes are crisp from the vegetables and fruits in the soup, and no one flavor of anything stands out. I served it to the boys and they were in awe, it was gone very quickly. I suggest you try it just to see how you like it! I was hoping the acidity would be brought down from the cukes and the watermelon, so my only suggestion is to get the low-acid OJ, I will make it again with the low-acid someday. Perfect dish for a hot day when you dont want to eat. I also saved a smidge in a bowl to be refrigerated overnight, the next day it had AMAZING flavor. I highly recommend putting it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I cut the recipe in half & I added two small homegrown serrano peppers (omtting the jalapeno). I also used an orange bell pepper because that's what I had. Pam's recipes are great so I never make many changes. This was really good & refreshing & paired perfectly w/ Grilled Honey Shrimp & Grilled Asparagus w/ Orange Wasabi Sauce. Thansk for another great recipe Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We like this a lot at my house. I substituted the juice of one ripe orange and two lemons for the orange juice and lime juice, and left out the garlic. It makes and excellent side dish for really spicy gumbo, with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was OK - I was disappointed after reading all the other great reviews. Perhaps my palate is not sophisticated enough to appreciate this one. My kids are champs at trying new things and neither one liked this at all. Probably will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Really good and refreshing. Definitely needs to be chilled overnight. Tastes amazing the next day. I love the combination of salty/garlic/sweet/sour/hot. It's a pretty good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States