Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenn L
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I was intrigued by the concept of the cold soups.. so I decided to give this a try. I used Parsley (it was on hand) and orange bell peppers (they were on sale)... it came out very well, very cool and mildly sweet flavors. The notes are crisp from the vegetables and fruits in the soup, and no one flavor of anything stands out. I served it to the boys and they were in awe, it was gone very quickly. I suggest you try it just to see how you like it! I was hoping the acidity would be brought down from the cukes and the watermelon, so my only suggestion is to get the low-acid OJ, I will make it again with the low-acid someday. Perfect dish for a hot day when you dont want to eat. I also saved a smidge in a bowl to be refrigerated overnight, the next day it had AMAZING flavor. I highly recommend putting it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I really enjoyed this. I thought it sounded weird and after I tasted the watermelon that I bought (which was mediocre) I didn't think this would be good, but I was wrong. It was very refreshing and lighter than a normal gazpacho. I paired it with chili and that was perfect! I followed the recipe except that once it was done it was a little too chunky for my taste and put it back in the blender for a very quick spin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
i tried this recipe in the hopes that it would make me like watermelon...it didnt but it is an interesting take on regular gazpacho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Really good and refreshing. Definitely needs to be chilled overnight. Tastes amazing the next day. I love the combination of salty/garlic/sweet/sour/hot. It's a pretty good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This recipe goes down like gangbusters everytime I make it for a summer BBQ. Everyone begins by being incredibly skeptical; "watermelon soup with GARLIC???" but ends up raving. The second time I made it I added 2 extra cloves of garlic and used 3 cups of watermelon and OJ. The taste effect was negligable. Make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Most of the time a food addiction is never a good thing unless it's as healthy and outstanding as this knock your socks off cross between spicy and cool, ying and yang most refreshing Watermelon Gazpacho. Be as indulgent as you want without a drop of quilt. This became my new favorite food EVER. However I think I went overboard a bit with this one and I ate it so frequently I am ready to put this to rest until next summer! It's probably a good thing watermelon is seasonal. I did however add a whole jalapeno pepper and I mixed things up a bit and exchanged 1/2 cup of Pineapple juice for the Orange. And Mint for the Cilantro. I just submitted another version of this Gazpacho with the ingredients and changes I just described to the Allrecipes team hoping they will include the other version. The marriage of all the ingredients is an unexpected and exotic blend of flavors. This makes an excellent first course or surprising contribution to a summer pot luck. Deeelish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was fabulous! I made it for a large group today and they all loved it. I basically tripled the recipe but I used 2 English cukes (they were huge), about 4 cups of O.J., 2 jalapeno peppers, 1 each of yellow, red and orange bell peppers, 1 small red onion, and cilantro. The ingredients were the same but I adjusted the amounts a bit for the larger recipe. I also let it sit overnight and it was good advice. It mellowed a lot. The taste was wonderful and refreshing and it's now in my favorite recipes folder. Try this one. You really can't describe the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khalito
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great taste however Its definetely more watery than I would like. I tried it with less orange juice, cilantro, and try only processing half of the watermelon and dice the rest along with half of a cantaloupe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khalito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
AWESOME! Fast, easy, and delicious. I substituted peach/white cranberry juice instead of orange juice, which probably made a big difference in taste, but it was still a great summer dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Absolutely delicious. Perfect for a first course on a hot summer evening, or even as a light lunch. Also, fits into my "this recipe is incredibly easy but is so tasty that people think you truly slaved away over it" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States