Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe is so refreshing and crisp. I'm a big fan of cold soups, and this one is so simple and easy on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by khalito
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Great taste however Its definetely more watery than I would like. I tried it with less orange juice, cilantro, and try only processing half of the watermelon and dice the rest along with half of a cantaloupe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khalito

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very good but a lot of chopping. I'd suggest using a bit less onion than the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
AWESOME! Fast, easy, and delicious. I substituted peach/white cranberry juice instead of orange juice, which probably made a big difference in taste, but it was still a great summer dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayjeckel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crossville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Really good and refreshing. Definitely needs to be chilled overnight. Tastes amazing the next day. I love the combination of salty/garlic/sweet/sour/hot. It's a pretty good combination of flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This was OK - I was disappointed after reading all the other great reviews. Perhaps my palate is not sophisticated enough to appreciate this one. My kids are champs at trying new things and neither one liked this at all. Probably will not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
We like this a lot at my house. I substituted the juice of one ripe orange and two lemons for the orange juice and lime juice, and left out the garlic. It makes and excellent side dish for really spicy gumbo, with some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IMVINTAGE
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I cut the recipe in half & I added two small homegrown serrano peppers (omtting the jalapeno). I also used an orange bell pepper because that's what I had. Pam's recipes are great so I never make many changes. This was really good & refreshing & paired perfectly w/ Grilled Honey Shrimp & Grilled Asparagus w/ Orange Wasabi Sauce. Thansk for another great recipe Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn L
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I was intrigued by the concept of the cold soups.. so I decided to give this a try. I used Parsley (it was on hand) and orange bell peppers (they were on sale)... it came out very well, very cool and mildly sweet flavors. The notes are crisp from the vegetables and fruits in the soup, and no one flavor of anything stands out. I served it to the boys and they were in awe, it was gone very quickly. I suggest you try it just to see how you like it! I was hoping the acidity would be brought down from the cukes and the watermelon, so my only suggestion is to get the low-acid OJ, I will make it again with the low-acid someday. Perfect dish for a hot day when you dont want to eat. I also saved a smidge in a bowl to be refrigerated overnight, the next day it had AMAZING flavor. I highly recommend putting it in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
All the adults who tried this gazpacho enjoyed it very much. The children didn't care for it, but I didn't really expect them to. This is an excellent, refreshing soup. I imagine if it were all pureed, it would also make a nice drink (a la V-8)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States