Watermelon Fruit Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I made this with watermelon, canaloupe, canary melon, pineapple, grapes, kiwi, strawberries, nectarines,and the best part was the dressing or syrup. It was absolutely the best. I just couldn't stop eating it.This will be going in my recipe book to make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
What is my mom's recipe doing here? :) I thought this was how everyone makes a fruit bowl! Only difference: we use ALL fresh fruits (yes- even purchasing the expense pineapple so we can painstakingly cut it up w/ love!). We only make this for special occasions because it is time-consuming but it looks so pretty and rarely is there any left! The "syrup" is what really makes the fruit! Aiming to impress? Try this! All your guests will take notice and I DARE you not to sneak some yourself! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
My dad made this at my wedding. Everyone loved it. They told hiom he has to make this at all the family gatherings. This looks beautiful when it is done.I highly recommend .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Wonderful, sweet combonation. I don't put the syrup on because I think it's too sweet. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made this for my son's graduation party. It made a lot of fruit, but it was so good that it was gone quickly. The syrup is what sets this apart from a plain fruit salad. My parent' used to make melon balls all the time and this beats that hands down. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very good. Everyone else must have like it too, because I made if for my son's 4th b-day party and it was only enough fruit left over for one plate, which I brought home and ate for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This fruit salad was a big hit at my daughter's birthday party. Both the children and adults enjoyed it. I plan on making it several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANNIE626

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I doubled the recipe for our annual 4th of July "get together". It was a big hit and didn't last halfway through the day! I did make a few alterations, using seedless watermelons was MUCH easier. The syrup seemed awful thin, so I doubled the suger, but not the water, and it adhered to the fruit much better. It seemed like a TON of filling for the watermelons, but when I finished all the preperations, it all fit just perfectly. I saved the top part of the watermelon and put it back on, using wooden shish-k-bob sticks to hold it closed till we arrived at the park. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This made a LOT of fruit and tasted GREAT! The syrup really gives it a good sweet flavor, not too sweet, just right! We had leftovers and ate it for the next few days, it was still as good as day 1. Also easy to prepare if you don't mind cutting fruit. 3 of us got it done in no time! I wish I could have this often but it makes so much I'll probably only make it for large get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I really liked the sauce on the fruit, to me it was not too lemony. I also used all fresh fruit and it was great. I made it for a party and it was the first thing gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICUP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States