Watermelon Fruit Bowl Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
I used fresh pineapple instead of canned. I think next time I would also use fresh clementines instead of the canned mandarin oranges and leave off the "sauce" all together. The "sauce" made it have a lemony taste. I really didn't care for the slight lemony flavor of the sauce on the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Fun presentation, great combination of fruits, however the lemon zest made it a little too lemony. I would make this next time with just the sugar/water syrup and no lemon zest. Also, make sure the flavors of your fruits are top notch as one bland fruit will taint the whole salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I made this for my son's graduation party. It made a lot of fruit, but it was so good that it was gone quickly. The syrup is what sets this apart from a plain fruit salad. My parent' used to make melon balls all the time and this beats that hands down. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
This made a LOT of fruit and tasted GREAT! The syrup really gives it a good sweet flavor, not too sweet, just right! We had leftovers and ate it for the next few days, it was still as good as day 1. Also easy to prepare if you don't mind cutting fruit. 3 of us got it done in no time! I wish I could have this often but it makes so much I'll probably only make it for large get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I doubled the recipe for our annual 4th of July "get together". It was a big hit and didn't last halfway through the day! I did make a few alterations, using seedless watermelons was MUCH easier. The syrup seemed awful thin, so I doubled the suger, but not the water, and it adhered to the fruit much better. It seemed like a TON of filling for the watermelons, but when I finished all the preperations, it all fit just perfectly. I saved the top part of the watermelon and put it back on, using wooden shish-k-bob sticks to hold it closed till we arrived at the park. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
This fruit salad was a big hit at my daughter's birthday party. Both the children and adults enjoyed it. I plan on making it several times this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TANNIE626

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Wonderful, sweet combonation. I don't put the syrup on because I think it's too sweet. Thanks Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
My dad made this at my wedding. Everyone loved it. They told hiom he has to make this at all the family gatherings. This looks beautiful when it is done.I highly recommend .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
What is my mom's recipe doing here? :) I thought this was how everyone makes a fruit bowl! Only difference: we use ALL fresh fruits (yes- even purchasing the expense pineapple so we can painstakingly cut it up w/ love!). We only make this for special occasions because it is time-consuming but it looks so pretty and rarely is there any left! The "syrup" is what really makes the fruit! Aiming to impress? Try this! All your guests will take notice and I DARE you not to sneak some yourself! Happy Cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I made this with watermelon, canaloupe, canary melon, pineapple, grapes, kiwi, strawberries, nectarines,and the best part was the dressing or syrup. It was absolutely the best. I just couldn't stop eating it.This will be going in my recipe book to make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Fruit Smoothie

Fresh fruit, fruit juice, and ice—that’s all there is to it!

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States