Watermelon Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My mom used to make these when I was growing up! I LOVE how cute they are and am having so much fun baking them for my own son right now! I did substitute a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and a 1/3 cup splenda. Not that it will make much difference but any little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
So cute, kids and adults loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great Recipe! I made these for my 2 years old's birthday party (we had a watermelon theme) and everyone loved them. The only thing I might change if I make them again would be to add some Almond Extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This cookie was very cute but it just has no flavor. After reading the reviews I used all butter, more sugar and vanilla thinking that would help, it didn't. I used paste dye so the color was true. I also divided my dough and made red and green, formed into a half circle and draped the "rind" over that. Placed in the freezer and cut slices out of the frozen dough. I think next time I will use a good tasting firm sugar cookie to make these. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Cute? Definitely. Tasty? Eh, good enough. Cuteness makes up for a lot. I do have to say though that my friends and their kids devoured them far more speedily than I would have imagined. If you do not have the cookie cutter, a biscuit cutter or even the rim of a glass will work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
These cookies were a big hit !!! They are so cute and taste good too. Although I think next time, I might sprinkle a little bit of sugar on them before baking to give them that "sugar cookie" taste. I didn't follow the directions as written. Instead, I colored 1/4 of the dough green and the rest red. I then shaped the red into a log with a flat bottom, rolled out the green and covered the red log with a thin layer of the green - then refrigerated the log. The next morning, I just sliced the cookies, added the chips and baked - very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was the BEST RECIPE EVER! I made your cookies, and not only do they look good, they taste good. There were a few things I did differently 1)Instead of the green icing I took some dough, added green food coloring to it, and wrapped it around the red dough 2)Added more food coloring, so it is a brighter color. 3)Since I didn't hvae chocolate chips, I cut a small piece of chocolate into smaller pieces. I only put them on some cookies, even though you could barely taste them in the end 4)I used a funnel as a cookie cutter Those weren't really necessary, but just thought I would share. Everyone who ate the cookies loved them. Thanks for a great recipe. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This tastes good..I tried to divide the dough and colored half of it green and the other red...then I chilled it..then rolled the red into a log..and flattened and wraped the green around, then sliced..but it didn't look to much like a watermelon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
What a tedious cookie to make! But what awesome results! Not for people who like the easy way out. I made it even harder on myself because I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I ended up individually cuting the regular chips in half (insane I know)! But everyone was impressed and they taste great. I washed an empty soup can to cut out the circles and that seemed to be the perfect size baked for 8 min. Cute, cute, cute cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiestork
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
These cookies had people asking for more! Really cute and soft. They had a slighty buttery taste and the chocolate minis and icing all went well together. I added a few more drops of red food coloring and also used 2 1/2" circles instead of 3", which seemed a better size (expands a tad bit in the oven) and it yielded about 55 cookies. A great sugar cookie recipe in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

How to Make a Cookie Bouquet

Say it with flowers--edible cookie flowers you make yourself!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States