Watermelon Cookie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by LaurenMV
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
My mom used to make these when I was growing up! I LOVE how cute they are and am having so much fun baking them for my own son right now! I did substitute a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and a 1/3 cup splenda. Not that it will make much difference but any little bit helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenMV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
So cute, kids and adults loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Great Recipe! I made these for my 2 years old's birthday party (we had a watermelon theme) and everyone loved them. The only thing I might change if I make them again would be to add some Almond Extract!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This cookie was very cute but it just has no flavor. After reading the reviews I used all butter, more sugar and vanilla thinking that would help, it didn't. I used paste dye so the color was true. I also divided my dough and made red and green, formed into a half circle and draped the "rind" over that. Placed in the freezer and cut slices out of the frozen dough. I think next time I will use a good tasting firm sugar cookie to make these. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Cute? Definitely. Tasty? Eh, good enough. Cuteness makes up for a lot. I do have to say though that my friends and their kids devoured them far more speedily than I would have imagined. If you do not have the cookie cutter, a biscuit cutter or even the rim of a glass will work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie S.
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
These cookies were a big hit !!! They are so cute and taste good too. Although I think next time, I might sprinkle a little bit of sugar on them before baking to give them that "sugar cookie" taste. I didn't follow the directions as written. Instead, I colored 1/4 of the dough green and the rest red. I then shaped the red into a log with a flat bottom, rolled out the green and covered the red log with a thin layer of the green - then refrigerated the log. The next morning, I just sliced the cookies, added the chips and baked - very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This was the BEST RECIPE EVER! I made your cookies, and not only do they look good, they taste good. There were a few things I did differently 1)Instead of the green icing I took some dough, added green food coloring to it, and wrapped it around the red dough 2)Added more food coloring, so it is a brighter color. 3)Since I didn't hvae chocolate chips, I cut a small piece of chocolate into smaller pieces. I only put them on some cookies, even though you could barely taste them in the end 4)I used a funnel as a cookie cutter Those weren't really necessary, but just thought I would share. Everyone who ate the cookies loved them. Thanks for a great recipe. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This tastes good..I tried to divide the dough and colored half of it green and the other red...then I chilled it..then rolled the red into a log..and flattened and wraped the green around, then sliced..but it didn't look to much like a watermelon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
What a tedious cookie to make! But what awesome results! Not for people who like the easy way out. I made it even harder on myself because I didn't have mini chocolate chips so I ended up individually cuting the regular chips in half (insane I know)! But everyone was impressed and they taste great. I washed an empty soup can to cut out the circles and that seemed to be the perfect size baked for 8 min. Cute, cute, cute cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBSEPKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookiestork
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
These cookies had people asking for more! Really cute and soft. They had a slighty buttery taste and the chocolate minis and icing all went well together. I added a few more drops of red food coloring and also used 2 1/2" circles instead of 3", which seemed a better size (expands a tad bit in the oven) and it yielded about 55 cookies. A great sugar cookie recipe in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States