Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This is soo good! I had not had this in a long time and this recipe tastes just like my mom used to make. I think next time I may add coconut just to add to it to see how it works.But the basic recipe is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a great addition to the meal. I did the 20 oz of crushed pineapple, drained, and a full 8 oz tub of whipped topping. I took the suggestion of adding a can of drained fruit cocktail, and I actually prefer it without. The flavor of the fruit cocktail didn't really meld well with the pineapple flavor, so save yourself the effort and make it without the fruit cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glennis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
my mom made this every holiday and called it pistacio pudding. She didn't add nuts; however, I do endorse the addition of some type of finely chopped nuts. We also never added the marshmallows so for those who don't appreciate the added sweet, you won't notice the absence of those. i would also support draining the crushed pineapple to avoid soupyness. The major difference in my mom's recipe would be the addition of minced maraschino cherries. For me this is a key ingredient. All in all...no holiday dinner is complete without this pudding/salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Weidman, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My husbands "secret" family recipe! LOL he believed that this was a recipe passed down from generation to generation! Its a nice addition to the holidays around here. We look forward to it every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
A classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
IF YOU WANT TO MAKE IT LOW CAL: sub in sugar free pistachio pudding mix, 1 cup of vanilla low cal yogurt and LITE or LOW FAT whipped topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rumson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This is a classic. I made it when my son had friends staying over. I used 2 packages of pistachio pudding, 20oz can of pineapple, and I used almost the entire carton of "lite" whipped topping. Next time I think I will add some sliced maraschino cherries. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Familychef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I'm not a huge "fluff" fan, but everyone loved it! DRAIN THE PINEAPPLE! USE PECANS! REFRIGERATE BEFORE SERVING! I garnished the top with some multi colored mini marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used a 20-ounce can of crushed pineapple (I drained as much liquid off as I could with the lid, which proved to be the PERFECT amount to leave out -- definitely don't need all that liquid!) and a full 8-ounce container of whipped topping. And it's awesome. I thought it would make more than it did. If you plan to take this to a potluck or party, definitely double -- if not triple -- the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious, even without the marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States