Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I've been making this recipe for years now and just love it. I honestly think I could finish the whole bowl. My only tips would be to combine the pudding mix and pineapple first, then gently stir in the pineapple and marshmallows. This allows you to mix it thoroughly without breaking doen the marshmallows. Then just fold in the cool whip and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was the recipe I have been looking for!I made one small addition to the recipe... I added 1/2 cup of coconut which gave it that texture it seemed to be missing! It was easy to make and it tasted great! I will be putting this recipe to good use because it is so wonderful I always want some on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This also works great if you use the sugar free pudding and fat free cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
my mom makes this every year for thanksgiving! We add chopped apple and coconut to our with the pineapple, nuts and marshmallows. SOOO YUMMMMYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustavo'sCupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love this salad and this not the way to make it. Followed the directions as written and tried to save it by adding milk, but next time I will make the pudding first according to the pie filling directions, as it calls for less milk. Once set I will add the pineapple, followed by the pecans. Lastly I will fold in the marshmallows and whipped topping. I have also had it with coconut which is good, but my husband doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've always used Fruit Cocktail instead of pineapple - it's the way my mom always made it. Family enjoys it and it's usually a hit at potluck events. I agree - I don't add the pecans. The pudding adds the right nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This has been a family tradition during the holidays for 30 years. It's so refreshing and light, you can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SixPakLady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a favorite. I drain the pineapple, and also add manderin oranges in place of the nuts. I also leave out the marshmellows. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I have been making this recipe for years, exactly as written except with no nuts added. While nuts would be a great addition, they're not needed -- it's delicious without them and I prefer not to add the calories if unnecessary. I also make using Cool Whip Lite and can't tell any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lombard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a light and refreshing side. Sweet like a dessert. Very easy to make. It tastes even better if you make it 24 hours in advanced. I do not use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States