Watergate Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
This is a light and refreshing side. Sweet like a dessert. Very easy to make. It tastes even better if you make it 24 hours in advanced. I do not use the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I've been making this recipe for years now and just love it. I honestly think I could finish the whole bowl. My only tips would be to combine the pudding mix and pineapple first, then gently stir in the pineapple and marshmallows. This allows you to mix it thoroughly without breaking doen the marshmallows. Then just fold in the cool whip and chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a favorite. I drain the pineapple, and also add manderin oranges in place of the nuts. I also leave out the marshmellows. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
This also works great if you use the sugar free pudding and fat free cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cicero, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
my mom makes this every year for thanksgiving! We add chopped apple and coconut to our with the pineapple, nuts and marshmallows. SOOO YUMMMMYYYY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustavo'sCupcake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Rucker, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Yummy! Just like Nana makes. I left out the nuts. I think the pistachio pudding had enough in it. I doubled the reciepe and took it with the Raspberry Lemonade Pie to a Memorial Day BBQ. Yummy Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandeegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was the recipe I have been looking for!I made one small addition to the recipe... I added 1/2 cup of coconut which gave it that texture it seemed to be missing! It was easy to make and it tasted great! I will be putting this recipe to good use because it is so wonderful I always want some on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bennington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kingston Springs, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I've always used Fruit Cocktail instead of pineapple - it's the way my mom always made it. Family enjoys it and it's usually a hit at potluck events. I agree - I don't add the pecans. The pudding adds the right nutty touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Really good and easy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I love this salad and this not the way to make it. Followed the directions as written and tried to save it by adding milk, but next time I will make the pudding first according to the pie filling directions, as it calls for less milk. Once set I will add the pineapple, followed by the pecans. Lastly I will fold in the marshmallows and whipped topping. I have also had it with coconut which is good, but my husband doesn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States