Watergate Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I love this cake it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATYYKAKEZ
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday, and it was a huge success! I made a couple changes: I used carbonated water instead of the lemon/lime soda, and I used whipped heavy cream instead of cool whip for the frosting. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATYYKAKEZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this was so good! I double the icing and had a little left over, I also took 1/2 big can of crushed pineapple, added some sugar and boiled it down. Then poked holes in my layers and put the pineapple on top of each layer, then covered it with icing! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I don't know what I was thinking about when I made this cake. I thought maybe the pudding and the soda would make a difference.... There is no hiding the fact that this is a BOX cake. You will have a hard time convincing most people that this is made from scratch. The topping, I used 2 cups of whipped heavy whipping cream instead of the dream whip. Added coconut and the pudding then sweetened to taste. Now this topping may be a keeper with a homemade cake. Otherwise, won't make the box cake portion again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
First, I agree with another reviewer that 3 eggs and 1 cup oil is just to much; I cut back to 2 eggs and 1/2 c oil. That being said does not change the fact that this cake is in need of help. I notice that many if the recipes that are giving it 4-5 stars talk about adding ingredients. I would say adding some crushed pineapple and maybe walnuts to the batter and/or the topping are required to make this worth your time. Also its a must to double the topping, there is just simply not enough to frost the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Great easy recipe. I added a cup of chopped walnuts to the recipe. Other then that...SIMPLE AND EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Excellent cake for a crowd! I added pineapple to the whipped topping. Easy to make, delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I lightened up the recipe by cutting oil back to 1/2 cup and substituting it with 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and I cut back to 2 eggs. Was still moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
My grandma has made this cake for just about every family birthday since I can remember. It is delicious. Keep it in the fridge if you can stop eating long enough to save some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
This is a great cake. First had it years ago and loved it. It is so moist! Most people I make it for think they are going to hate it, because of the pistachio, but they end up loving it! ALWAYS a hit at cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States