Watergate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Even my super critical "baker" sister loved it. She rarely hands out compliments and couldn't get enough of this cake. It's delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianon Petkau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I loved this recipe, added walnuts and next time I will add a coconut topping. This is not one of those super rich, overly sweet desserts that we don't care for. Followed the recipe exactly and this turned out perfect. The frosting is to die for. I will make this many times over. This is pretty easy to make. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This cake was very good. I used toasted coconut and left out the nuts due to allergies. This is a very moist cake. I think next time I'll add some grated lime to the batter to give it a little bit more flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I am a diabetic, so I made it sugar free. I used sugar free yellow cake mix, sugar free puddings, sugar free lemon lime soda, and sugar free whipped topping. It turned out really good. If you did not know about it being sugar free, you never would have guessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I was happy that this turned out pretty well. (for me that's saying something since I can't seem to cook dessert to save my life, including boxed) I followed the recipe to a tee, adding the coconut into the mix since my family all LOVE the stuff..(num) The only ingrediant I didn't have was the veggie oil which I subbed for canola. It left a slight after taste that wasn't entirely pleasent in the uncooked batter and I was pretty worried. Fortunately, in the finished product, the aftertaste was barely noticable. For the topping I added two drops of green food coloring just to give it that added springy look to it and sprinkled more coconut across the top. For the most part, I was really pleased with the results. The reason I'm giving it three stars, is because for some reason the cake solidified fine in the oven with the exception to one of the sides, which bubbled over the rim. I have NO idea why it did this, it could just be my oven, however, I had too work around the mess it created and also cook the cake 10 minutes longer then the recipe called for because it was no where near done at that point. So, the end result was that a small portion of the cake was harder along the rim while the rest of it turned out great. But that's okay, I'm just glad it's edible at all. :) Anyway, it's very sweet and my husband likes this very much so thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Delicious and moist is a nice way to describe this cake. I think using the carbonated beverage makes this cake very moist. Really like that this is a refrigerated as we really like "cold cake". I opted to not use the coconut and nuts as my husband and son don't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
We use this cake as St. Patrick's Day dessert. Easy to make and a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this cake recipe. However, neither of us remembered to put the cake in the fridge after serving it at dinner and it sat on the counter over night - which, for most cakes, would have been fine.. But the whipped topping in this one went bad and we had to throw the whole thing away. :( I plan on making it again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFERS0118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is a cake my mom would always make for us on our birthday's growing up, so now I use this recipe whenever there's a special occasion. Except I substitute in hazelnuts for the walnuts. Gives a slightly different flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made this cake for Easter. Left out the coconut and added pineapple. Made the frosting with 1/2 c. butter, 8 oz. cream cheese and pudding. I think I brought home two pieces. It was so good, will definately make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States