Watercress Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very good! Had a creamy texture, not too thick or thin. Great flavor. Easy to make and prepare. Worked well to blend in my magic bullet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was trying to figure out a quick fix for all this watercress I bought on a whim, and this worked perfectly! It's also low fat, I could just use skim milk. I might try to use less liquid and allow the watercress stock to be thicker next time for a creamier texture...it was also hard to control the blender at first, you have to start low and stay at the "mix/chop" modes for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used goat's milk and added some fresh thyme - wow!! Who knew a bunch of weeds scraped off of a pond in rural Wyoming would taste so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! It has a hearty texture with the pureed potato in there. I had never had watercress before this--great way to use what's in season in the spring at the farmer's market! Love it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccerjulie27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I was looking for a non-salad recipe so I could use up that bunch of watercress and this one is a winner! I substituted potatoes water for milk (didn't have any on hand) & added cornstarch as a thickener & love it! I'll be making this over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I just discovered the great nutritional aspects of watercress and this was the perfect recipe to load up on it! I used a vegetable base stock instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. I also added a few cloves of garlic and 2 jalapeno peppers to the onion potato mix for some extra flavor without having to add any salt. i was delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I left out the oil, and cooked the potato and onion in a small amount of water with a chicken bouillion cube thrown in. Topped up the liquid with milk and left out the cream. Most excellent. This is a good one for the immersion blender - with a full size blender you need TINY batches or it's likely to throw the lid off and splatter you and your kitchen with green goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Tin Can Castle
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was very tasty, easy, and elegant! I made a few alterations due to a somewhat bare pantry. I only had about 1 1/2 cups of milk, so I used some extra stock (vegetable, to make it vegetarian) and about half a cup of sherry. I ate it while watching *Wilde* and found it an aesthetically worthy complement to the movie. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wytheville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
delicious! but I love anything with watercress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Great recipe - delicious soup just like my Mum makes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States