Watercress Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The soup was very good. I have just learned of the incredible nutritional value of watercress and I was trying to find ways to eat it other than on salads. This was absolutely a perfect way. I will be making a lot of this and keeping it in the fridge. P.S I did make it lower fat by using non fat milk and I was still pleased with the results !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I was looking for a non-salad recipe so I could use up that bunch of watercress and this one is a winner! I substituted potatoes water for milk (didn't have any on hand) & added cornstarch as a thickener & love it! I'll be making this over & over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This soup was very tasty, used veg stock instead of chicken. Will definitly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I left out the oil, and cooked the potato and onion in a small amount of water with a chicken bouillion cube thrown in. Topped up the liquid with milk and left out the cream. Most excellent. This is a good one for the immersion blender - with a full size blender you need TINY batches or it's likely to throw the lid off and splatter you and your kitchen with green goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I was trying to figure out a quick fix for all this watercress I bought on a whim, and this worked perfectly! It's also low fat, I could just use skim milk. I might try to use less liquid and allow the watercress stock to be thicker next time for a creamier texture...it was also hard to control the blender at first, you have to start low and stay at the "mix/chop" modes for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
We found fresh watercress at a farmer's market and were looking for something to do with it. I like anything with potatoes, so we tried this. It was very tasty. Watercress doesn't have much flavour, but we compensated (see below) and it was a very nice addition to dinner. variations: we used a little more salt and pepper than was called for, and also vegetable stock (I'm vegetarian).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Simple and comforting. This was a great way to use my watercress! I think the pureeing part would be easier with a stick blender, but I don't have one yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very good! Had a creamy texture, not too thick or thin. Great flavor. Easy to make and prepare. Worked well to blend in my magic bullet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plain, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great recipe, although it was a bit less thick than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe about half an hour before dinner was to be served. It's fast and simple, with a good result. I'll probably keep this recipe for those days that I need a soup in a jiffy. I did omit the whipped cream and fresh watercress, but it didn't subtract from the lovely taste of the nutty-bitter watercress. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States