Watercress Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by makizo
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Being in Hawaii, watercress is a very popular item. This is a new way of using watercress, easy, delicious, I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
We use this recipe almost every time we buy watercress at the farmer's market. It makes an excellent topping for pasta and pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I had never tried making pesto with watercress before, so I thought why not give it a try. I was afraid it would be too watery. Like with any recipe, I tailor the ingredients to our family's palette. I used 3 cloves of garlic, substituted olive oil for the mayonnaise, and added a couple pinches of salt. To round out the flavor I put in a tablespoon each of sour cream and yogurt and 1/8th cup of milk. Processed the whole thing and left it to sit on the counter for 30 minutes before serving on pasta. We had a bit left over and the kids fought over who got to use it on their bagel in the morning. Cool, refreshing change to the richness of basil pesto. Great for summer! Can't wait to try it on a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a great alternative to the regular, basil pesto. It is light and refreshingj - and I chose to squeeze a lime into the pesto because I wanted to serve it over shrimp scampi and linguini with a dusting of parmesan. I gave it 3 stars because it is not as great as basil pesto and watercress can be hard to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I had never tried watercress before, nor had I made my own pesto. I really like this pesto a lot. I added lemon to mine after putting it on pasta. This recipe is great! Leftovers for lunch tomorrow:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Delicious! I always made pesto with basil before, but this time I didn't have any basil - just parsley and watercress. This watercress was delicious!! I added a couple tablespoons of EVOO to help it blend better, though that may not even be necessary with a real food processor (I was using a magic bullet). I omitted the walnuts because I didn't have any, and it was still perfect. And substituted parmesan cheese from the can instead of fresh because we were out of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
So yummy! Made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it. Served it with penne pasta, very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Easy to make, full of flavor & healthy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I have always wanted a different way to make watercress besides potato soup or throwing it in salad. I tried this with pasta and chicken. Very good. Thanks Mandy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This is supper yumy on a salad, it gives it nice flavour, its great in pasta too, added with some tomatoes. GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Almond Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States