Water Chestnuts a la Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Easy, quick and delicious. At our house, when there is only one left there can be quite a battle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We have been serving this in our family for decades, but, we marinate the water chestnuts in soy sauce & garlic powder, before wrapping with the bacon. Much more flavourful. Give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
we too have been making them a long time but on ours we use 1/2 cup chili sauce, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup mayo mix together pour over wrapped bacon chestnuts, and bake 350 45 mins . Before I pour sauce on them I microwave them 10 min or so, to give them a head start on cooking. never any leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
these are good ...can be frozen ...even better if you take equal amounts of brown sugar and ketcup mixtogether dip bacon /waterchestnuts in mixture then put in oven to warm...serve hot or room tempture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe has been one my family has used for decades! I have gone to several parties recently and taken this appetizer with me; they are gone in seconds, and I don’t add anything else to the recipe. The only thing I do different is bake them in the oven at 375 degrees for 20 minutes or until the bacon is crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This receipe is terrific....can change it up by covering the in a mixture of equal parts of ketchup and brown sugar instead of just the brown sugar. Evyerone raves either way. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Secret - ADD BROWN SUGAR! Roll the water chestnut in brown sugar before wrapping the bacon around it. Hold together with a toothpick. This adds just a hint of sweet syrup and makes this snack awesome!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My mom actually bakes these in the oven around the holiday and I will be making them this sunday for the super bowl. One thing that adds that I recommend is smothering them in bbq sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These are great if you are looking for quick and easy. However, to make it a 5 star recipe, go the extra mile and try the Bacon Water Chestnut Wraps recipe on this site. It's kicked up a notch with a great sauce. You gotta love a recipe with 2 ingredients that can be microwaved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I had these at a party once and I've been looking for the recipe ever since to find how to get the bacon crispy. I roll the water chestnuts in bacon and then I roll them in brown sugar. I've tried broiling and baking with intermittent success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlfun48

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Jalapenos are stuffed with cream cheese, wrapped in bacon, and grilled!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States