Water Chestnuts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This recipe is delicious as is, but after trying it, now I always roll my water chestnuts in brown sugar before wrapping in bacon. Ta da! Even better. Also, I felt they were a bit too salty, so I have switched to low-sodium soy sauce for this recipe. Quick and easy crowd-pleaser for a house party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Very good recipe, but if you marinate as long as the recipe states the chestnuts will be much, much too salty. I will make this again BUT marinate no longer than probably 4 hours. Thanks very much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I rolled the chestnuts in brown sugar before cooking, as mentioned by many others. The finished appetizer was pretty good, nothing really special, but definitely delicious. I will add some different spices next time to add flavor. Lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I also cut back on the soy sauce and add teriyaki marinate, cooked for 40 minutes. They turned out pretty good. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Liesman Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Great 350° is too low. I had to cook more than 2x longer than recipe states. Should have cooked at higher temperature for shorter time. I prefer the water chestnuts to remain juicy and crunchy in contrast to bacon, but after cooking for so long chestnuts became soft and seemed greasier this way. Also make sure to leave enough space on you baking tray as grease collects quickly! Overall, still great and you can never go wrong with these babies!! Everyone loves em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Creemore, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very easy and everyone loves these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I don't eat meat so I didn't get to try these, but I took them to a party and they were the first things to go. I marinated the chestnuts (2 cans, larger ones cut in half) in just soy for 6 hours per the recipe. I then rolled lightly in brown sugar per other suggestions. Used turkey bacon, cutting each slice in half and rolling loosely to allow room for the bacon to shrink. 2 cans chestnuts to 1 package bacon was almost perfect, with just enough bacon left over for breakfast. :) Cooked at 350 for 35 minutes. At that point they were pretty crispy, but I was still able to pop them in the oven for 10 to reheat when I got to the party. I soaked the toothpicks for 30 minutes and they didn't burn at all. The beauty of the turkey bacon is that there's very little fat so you don't have to switch pans partway through, it also cooks much more quickly...and of course is better for you. I thought this would be a time consuming thing to make, but it was really pretty easy. My Dad said they were just perfect with that bit of sugar added but that they'd be just as good without it. He gave them a 5. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Modified the recipe using Maple Bacon glazed with a SanJ brand orange sauce. Superb! I followed other tips and half cooked the bacon first (and while still cooling), wrapped it around the water chestnuts that had marinated for hours in a teryaki sauce. (If you wrap the bacon after it's cooled or cook it too long, it will crumble when wrapping it). This recipe change allowed be to wrap, toothpick and glaze...then drive 15 miles and bake it at 350 in under 10 mins at my mom's house. Crowd pleaser. So many options for personalization. Also...soak your toothpicks first or they'll burn up in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I got a little creative and prepared them as directed but added a jalapeno slice to them before wrapping them. I also did some rolled in brown sugar then wrapped in bacon. No one could decide which they liked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is such a quick appetizer to make. The unexpected crunch of the water chestnut and the all american favorite bacon . . . a perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States