Water Chestnuts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I roll the marinated waterchestnuts in brown sugar before wrapping them in the bacon. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I love this chestnut appetizer. I have made it for my son's b-day parties and they are always well received. I mix 1/2 cup brown sugar with 4 Tbsp soy sauce for 2 cans water chestnuts. I like the addition of the brown sugar. I also make sure to marinate them. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
My sister-in-law makes these tasty morsels for all our pot lucks, only she adds 2 cloves of minced garlic to the marinade....excellent, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I found I had to bake in oven much longer than anticipated (about 5 times as long as recipe stated). The taste was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
My mother has been making this appetizer for decades but hers are not marinated, they are topped with barbeque sauce before baking. They are AWESOME. My mouth is watering just thinking about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I LOVE these. I used 1/2 cup soy sauce and 1/2 cup brown sugar. mixed it all together and then let them marinate. I cooked mine at 375 for 25 minutes because I wanted them very crisp. I made up a nice sauce of equal parts honey and mustard. It was a perfect dip for these gems! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These are SO good...they were all gobbled up at my birthday barbeque. I didn't bother marinating the water chestnuts, however, I did whisk together some soy sauce, fresh chopped ginger, garlic powder and dried onions. I also par-cooked my bacon just until soft before baking. Then, brushed the rolls with the mixture just before baking. Also, turn them once during the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I par cooked my bacon in the microwave before wrapping around the water chestnuts. Everyone loved these. Great appy Marcia and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
A friend makes this for potluck at work. Everyone asks for it every time! Love it and it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These are gorgeous, definitely use the brown sugar it caramelises to counteract the saltiness of the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Explosion

A meaty sausage and bacon filling is rolled up in a bacon blanket. Kaboom!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States