Water Chestnuts Wrapped in Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
These are gorgeous, definitely use the brown sugar it caramelises to counteract the saltiness of the bacon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
I love this chestnut appetizer. I have made it for my son's b-day parties and they are always well received. I mix 1/2 cup brown sugar with 4 Tbsp soy sauce for 2 cans water chestnuts. I like the addition of the brown sugar. I also make sure to marinate them. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I par cooked my bacon in the microwave before wrapping around the water chestnuts. Everyone loved these. Great appy Marcia and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These are SO good...they were all gobbled up at my birthday barbeque. I didn't bother marinating the water chestnuts, however, I did whisk together some soy sauce, fresh chopped ginger, garlic powder and dried onions. I also par-cooked my bacon just until soft before baking. Then, brushed the rolls with the mixture just before baking. Also, turn them once during the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
We love these but we also add a slice of jalepeno before we wrap with the bacon. It's hot but soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
I've been eating these since I was little...we always make them in the microwave (between pieces of paper towel)...it takes less than 10 minutes. Instead of marinating in soy, we dip the finished chestnuts in Catalina dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I roll the marinated waterchestnuts in brown sugar before wrapping them in the bacon. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
My mother has been making this appetizer for decades but hers are not marinated, they are topped with barbeque sauce before baking. They are AWESOME. My mouth is watering just thinking about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
My sister-in-law makes these tasty morsels for all our pot lucks, only she adds 2 cloves of minced garlic to the marinade....excellent, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I found I had to bake in oven much longer than anticipated (about 5 times as long as recipe stated). The taste was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Chef John’s Bacon Jam

Turn your favorite cured, smoked meat into amazing jam.

Bacon Cheese Puffs

A pumpernickel party appetizer with bacon and melted cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States