Water Chestnut Wraparounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is always a hit at our house, but I soak the chestnuts in soy sauce and then roll in brown sugar instead of using white sugar. Then wrap with bacon and fasten with toothpick. This is great microwaved also (and saves time!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Just like my mom's! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. The longer you marinade the chestnuts the better, but as long as they to soak for longer than an hour you're good to go. I also cook the bacon in the microwave for 5 minutes before wrapping the water chestnuts - it cuts down on oven time and there's never any soggy-bacon spots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is my FAVOURITE appetizer recipe and often make them just for myself! I allow thw w/chestnuts to soak in the soy for a little while and also use brown sugar. Just a tip - to make the (streaky) bacon go further, stretch the rashers out with the back of a knife before wrapping, it also cuts down on crisping up time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I wasn't so sure about making this and I sure am glad I did!! What a hit this was. I did do a few things different..I used maple bacon, and I marinated the water chestnuts in soy with a little hoisin sauce. This is a spectacular appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this for an open house and everyone raved about them. Best part, they are sooo easy to make. Depending on size of chestnuts, I cut bacon in thirds, Also lined the bacon pan with foil to make clean up easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I make this every year for Christmas Eve. Thanks so much Eleanor for sharing it! I've noticed that Reese brand water chestnuts are preferred by my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
I took these wrap-arounds to a party last night, and they were the hit with everyone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
you will never try another chestnut recipe again! this is the "best"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
Yummy yummy yummy describes this recipe! A definate hit at our party and a new addition to my list of "must makes"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These were delicious, but I believe the cooking time is incorrect in the instructions. I cooked for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees before the bacon was done. An inexpensive appetizer that disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States