Water Chestnut Wraparounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Great recipe! I followed the suggested ingredients to a tee...very tasty. I combined baking and broiling to get the bacon a little crispier, then I transferred them to an electric fondue pot to keep them warm throughout the dinner party. Lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These are a great and simple appetizer, they're a hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Easy appetizer. Went over well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I wasn't so sure about making this and I sure am glad I did!! What a hit this was. I did do a few things different..I used maple bacon, and I marinated the water chestnuts in soy with a little hoisin sauce. This is a spectacular appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is my FAVOURITE appetizer recipe and often make them just for myself! I allow thw w/chestnuts to soak in the soy for a little while and also use brown sugar. Just a tip - to make the (streaky) bacon go further, stretch the rashers out with the back of a knife before wrapping, it also cuts down on crisping up time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nic in the UK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macclesfield, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
These were delicious, but I believe the cooking time is incorrect in the instructions. I cooked for about 50 minutes at 350 degrees before the bacon was done. An inexpensive appetizer that disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I made these for a party and they were a huge hit! Even I was surprised by how easy they were to make and how great they tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I made this for an open house and everyone raved about them. Best part, they are sooo easy to make. Depending on size of chestnuts, I cut bacon in thirds, Also lined the bacon pan with foil to make clean up easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Great appetizer...I used brown suger instead of white suger. It takes a little time to wrap the bacon. I used the small sized water chestnuts; next time I'll try the larger size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Very popular at my holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Chef John’s Beef Sliders

See how to make perfect homemade sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States