Water Chestnut Wraparounds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very yummy! I made a test batch before my party and wished that I had made more for myself. They were great and I even had a few guys ask me how I made them. Most people like sugar, salt, bacon and crunch- you get it all with these appetizers! I did do as others recommended- rolled them in brown sugar. I personally think that the addition of brown sugar is a must. These also can be made ahead of time. I asembled them on cookie sheets covered with parchment paper and lightly covered them with plastic wrap- then put in the fridge for a few hours. They cooked well- and the brown sugar soaked into the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Just like my mom's! This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. The longer you marinade the chestnuts the better, but as long as they to soak for longer than an hour you're good to go. I also cook the bacon in the microwave for 5 minutes before wrapping the water chestnuts - it cuts down on oven time and there's never any soggy-bacon spots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OPENDESTINY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Hills, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I love this recipe ! I use the precooked bacon and cut the waterchesnuts in half. I cut the bacon in half also. marinate in low sodium soy then roll in brown sugar . bake 20 min or until crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Readington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit. I added more chestnuts and added pure maple syrup in the marinade. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had prepared everything and got my husband to do the assembly. He often helps as "sous-chef" and enjoyed doing this. He then took all the credit, of course. They were simple, yet super tasty. "I'd make these again" were his words.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Very good. I tried some with bacon, and some with prosciutto. I prefer the flavor of the prosciutto, but there are two things to keep in mind: firstly, since the prosciutto is cured and not raw, less cooking time is needed--15 minutes is sufficient. Secondly, the prosciutto is saltier than bacon when cooked, so you might want to counter-balance that by sprinkling some brown sugar on top of the wrapped water chestnuts before they go into the oven. Reduced-sodium soy sauce would also be a good idea. I'll definitely be trying this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Simply and great. Soaked the chestnut overnight and took the back of a knife and streched the bacon so the half piece to bacon wrapped twice around the chestnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
These are GREAT. I did as someone else suggested and soaked the chestnuts in low sodium soy sauce and then rolled in brown sugar. The brown sugar makes such a nice sauce, no other sauce is needed. Great New Years app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Simply divine! I also used brown sugar rather than white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Had these at a friend's party and they were so yummy I had to go looking for the recipe. Easy but can't-stop-eating-them good. (Use brown sugar instead of white and double the batch.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States