Wassail Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is wassail the way it should be--tart, spicy, and not overly sweet. I did end up using less lemon juice because it was a little TOO tart for even me; however, I was using the bottled stuff which might have had something to do with it. Also, if the 8+ hour time frame is a turn-off for some, it can be made on the stovetop. I let it simmer for about 45 minutes and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I love how this recipe doesn't require any sugar and uses only juice and spices. I had everything on hand, and I even used a chunk of peeled, fresh ginger instead of the dried. I made it Sunday morning (in the crockpot) and we had it after dinner when we got home from church. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
I followed the original recipe and did find it a little tart (as others have noted), but after adding a little extra apple cider, it was great! I made it at 8am for a party that night, and it got a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I thought the recipe needed a little more zip. I added 1/4 cup red hots replaced 1 quart of apple juice for 1 quart red grapefruit juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Always good at Holiday time! It makes the kitchen smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Very good. I didn't know what it was suppose to taste like but everyone enjoyed it. I had some spiced rum on the side for those who wanted to 'kick-it-up' a bit. And, I did add some cranberry juice. I loved the one reviewers suggestion of a cloved decorated orange. It really looked festive as well as being functional (no cheesecloth needed). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Everyone loved it at my Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Not quite what I was hoping for. I love hot spiced drinks but this is not one that I will be making again. It smells good but the flavor just isn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is an awesome recipe. We, too, used real ginger. That really does make a difference I think. And then we added a quart of Spiced Rum in place of one quart of apple juice. Man, let me tell you. We were HAMMERED! It was great! Thanks Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Black Halloween Punch

Cast a deliciously dark pall over your Halloween punch bowl.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States