Wassail Punch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I make this every Thanksgiving and have never had any left over. Lots of folks like to "spike" with a little spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I made this following the exact ingredients on the list in their exact measurements. I was very pleased with the way it came out - I didn't think it was too tart at all! The trick is making sure it has thoroughly cooked itself for awhile. I had to make mine on the stovetop for a shorter amount of time than was listed. It simmered there for a few hours and the flavors mixed well when it had been cooking for awhile longer. This is so easy to make I will be doing it again, and yes it smelled wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Have tried several Wassail recipes over the years but this one really stands out. Even my teenagers enjoyed this one and kept going back for more. I doubled the recipe. I used pasteurized, unfiltered cider. I juiced lemons for the required juice, did not use prepared. I used a premium, no pulp orange juice. Mixed it all up, floated a clove studded orange in it and simmered it until it had reduced about 1/2 inch from where I had started in a 6 quart kettle. Just before serving I added honey to sweeten it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I was a little skeptical about making this since I had never tried to make wassail before. This was a big hit at my Christmas party. It was totally gone by the end of the night. Adding red hot candies to it really adds a special touch, so I highly recommend doing that too. This was very easy and I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was definitely delicious. I used a package of mulled spices from the grocery store and just put in cider and orange juice. I let them sit in the crock pot for about 6 hours on low and then turned it up to high for the last 30 or so minutes. I strained the wassail and put a little bit of spiced rum in the bottom of the mugs- so so yummy, and the whole house smelled amazing. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This tastes good and can be made with or without spirits. I added some Burgundy to it and it added a wonderful complex flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
It was easy to make, good, but not fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Loved this recipe! I am a huge fan of apple cider, and I loved how these flavors came together and complemented each other! I will be making this again for my New Year's Day brunch! (... as well as for when I just want to curl up with a good book and a lovely seasonal beverage!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good. My sister makes this during the holidays and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was good, but too much citrus for us, so we ended up adding brown sugar and an extra quart of apple juice to balance it out. A good base besides that though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Ponche de Frutas (Fruit Punch)

See how to make a delicious and refreshing Mexican-style fruit punch.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States