Wassail Punch I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I served this as the non-alcholic drink at my Christmas party last night and it was well received. I will make this again, but I would not put quite as much sugar in it. It was just a little too sweet, the cider is sweet and the orange juice is sweet so the ammount of sugar was a bit too much, maybe 1 cup less would be good. You could always add more when you're heating it if you thought it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this for Christmas Eve and it turned out wonderfully good. It was great to serve to company and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Wow, this is good. Definitely worth the time it takes to make it -- and pretty simple, too. The recipe as it is makes just a tad over two gallons; it's so good, though, that we didn't have any problem finishing it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Very good! This is almost exactly like my favorite Wassail, the only difference being the omission of cardamom in this recipe. I toss in a few whole green cardamom pods with the other spices. (Sorry for being inexact - the number depends on the amount of Wassail and the size and freshness of the pods... and personal taste. Try 1 or 2 if you are not accustomed to the flavor of cardamom.) DO use real oranges and lemons (not juice concentrates) - the fresh juices make all the difference in the world. Worth the work of all of that squeezing :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
I've made this for Christmas parties, and folks really like it. It's delicious and so nice, because it's a very warm punch when it's cold outside! I just keep it simmering on the stove during a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Loved Loved Loved It. I used ground ginger due to the cost of crystalized ginger. Also used apple juice due to availability.I used 64 ouces of apple juice and 1 teaspoon each of ground ginger and nutmeg about 1 1/2 tablespoons of whole cloves and substituted brown sugar for white. I also adjusted the juices accordingly using 3 cups of Orange Juice and 3/4 c lemon juice, 3 cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Very tasty and what an aroma! Makes a ton...next time I will make less and also use less sugar - I found the natural sugars in the cider, oj and lemon juice to be very sweet, so adding all that additional sugar was too much. But a very tasty combination of flavors. This definitely makes my holiday drink list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it! My dad must have gone back three or four times! I will definitely make it again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Overall, very good wassail! I've made this a couple of time and I find the lemon juice to be overpowering. I now decrease the amount of lemon juice and add pomagrante juice. It gives a nice kick to the flavor. I also use ground ginger instead of crystallized and it works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fruit Punch

A refreshing, delicious fruit punch with ginger ale and orange sherbet.

Sparkling Punch

See how to make a lemony, light, and refreshing punch.

Cranberry Punch

See how to make a bright, tangy refresher for summer or the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States