Washington Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
this cake is awesome...orginal cake....and the 3 eggs makes it more tender...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharra_Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This cake used to be on the menu at a restaurant I worked at. I reduced the sugar and oil with no ill effects in the cake. It was excellent. I will have to compare it with the original recipe when I unpack, I think it had more cinnamon. The crust softens after a day or two in the fridge. I prefer it after the crust has softened and the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharra_Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
WOW! I love this recipe! We only eat granny smith apples and I ended up with a bag that weren't, so I was looking for a recipe to use these up and this just what I was looking for. On the sweet side, but man it hits the spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This cake was so moist, everybody I know just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My SISTER makes this cake and flat REFUSES to share the recipe with us! Oh, but she shamelessly flaunts this wonderful cake in front of us!! Well, thank you for sharing your recipe. This is by far one of the very best ways to use apples ever....I've taken this to every pot luck we're invited to and people actually ask us to bring it. Really worth making - double it, it doesn't last very long! :0 (I can't wait till she comes to visit and I present her with slice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering for the first time and it was a big hit. I served the cream cheese frosting on the side since it wasn't even needed and left it optional. I used 1 egg and 2 eggs substitutes in addition to canola oil. I have made a lot of cakes from this site but this is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I loved this recipe! If you don't ice it with the cream cheese frosting it is equally delicious, just top with brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Almost perfect! Washington Apple Cake is my husband's FAVORITE, but I lost my recipe in summer flooding. This version seemed a little thicker in batter and didn't spread as well...I ended up making 1 1/2 batches to cover the 9X13. Otherwise, I'd very happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My family loved this cake. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have used this recipie for over 20 years. Everyone loves it. I usually make these "enhancements": I add about 1/2 teaspoon of ginger 1/4 teaspoon of allspice to the flour mixture. 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract to the cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States