Washington Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I've made it many times. The first time I made it, I bought the ingredients to make the cream cheese topping and then decided not to. When the cake cooled, I just turned it out upsidedown on a platter and sprinkled it with confectioner's sugar instead. It was beautiful, delicious and LESS FATTENING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Both of my grandmothers use to make this cake when I was a child. One grandmother used vanilla and the other used lemon in the icing.This cake has always been a family favorite. Remember the batter is very thick before you put it in the pan so don't be alarmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharra_Kitty
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
This cake used to be on the menu at a restaurant I worked at. I reduced the sugar and oil with no ill effects in the cake. It was excellent. I will have to compare it with the original recipe when I unpack, I think it had more cinnamon. The crust softens after a day or two in the fridge. I prefer it after the crust has softened and the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharra_Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
this cake is awesome...orginal cake....and the 3 eggs makes it more tender...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Is this cake supposed to have a very thick crunchy crust? The middle was nice and moist and very good but my husband hated how crispy the outside was and I didn't like it much myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I have made this recipe for years. Everyone loves it. I got this recipe in a recipe collection called "My great recipes" that I ordered from a cookbook. Everyone asks me to make this cake. I love it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
WOW! I love this recipe! We only eat granny smith apples and I ended up with a bag that weren't, so I was looking for a recipe to use these up and this just what I was looking for. On the sweet side, but man it hits the spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
A good, if somewhat ordinary, cake with a nice moist texture. Like similar cakes, I think it tastes better after it sits for a day. Not wanting to spend for 2 pkgs of cream cheese, I halved the frosting-- but it's the best part! This would be a good choice if you don't want a really sweet cake and you like to taste walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A favorite of my family's for many years, loved finding it here on All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillemap@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Almost perfect! Washington Apple Cake is my husband's FAVORITE, but I lost my recipe in summer flooding. This version seemed a little thicker in batter and didn't spread as well...I ended up making 1 1/2 batches to cover the 9X13. Otherwise, I'd very happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States