Washington Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
this cake is awesome...orginal cake....and the 3 eggs makes it more tender...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
The flavour was nice... but definitely too much oil in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I have made this recipe for years. Everyone loves it. I got this recipe in a recipe collection called "My great recipes" that I ordered from a cookbook. Everyone asks me to make this cake. I love it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I liked it..............but just too much sugar for me. Next time I would cut back the sugar in the cake and the topping. More cream cheese, less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I LOVE this recipe. I've made it many times. The first time I made it, I bought the ingredients to make the cream cheese topping and then decided not to. When the cake cooled, I just turned it out upsidedown on a platter and sprinkled it with confectioner's sugar instead. It was beautiful, delicious and LESS FATTENING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Both of my grandmothers use to make this cake when I was a child. One grandmother used vanilla and the other used lemon in the icing.This cake has always been a family favorite. Remember the batter is very thick before you put it in the pan so don't be alarmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoLinex

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
A good, if somewhat ordinary, cake with a nice moist texture. Like similar cakes, I think it tastes better after it sits for a day. Not wanting to spend for 2 pkgs of cream cheese, I halved the frosting-- but it's the best part! This would be a good choice if you don't want a really sweet cake and you like to taste walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
WOW! I love this recipe! We only eat granny smith apples and I ended up with a bag that weren't, so I was looking for a recipe to use these up and this just what I was looking for. On the sweet side, but man it hits the spot. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This cake was so moist, everybody I know just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
My SISTER makes this cake and flat REFUSES to share the recipe with us! Oh, but she shamelessly flaunts this wonderful cake in front of us!! Well, thank you for sharing your recipe. This is by far one of the very best ways to use apples ever....I've taken this to every pot luck we're invited to and people actually ask us to bring it. Really worth making - double it, it doesn't last very long! :0 (I can't wait till she comes to visit and I present her with slice!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States