Washington Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
It was just ok. The apples didn't add too much. Wish it had more apple flavor. I used a little more than 4 cups. I just wasn't that crazy about it but everyone has different likes and this wasn't one of mine. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This doesn't need frosting at all. I love this cake because it's so light, unlike most fruit breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is heaven! I had to use round cake pans but it turned out VERY nicely. My crust (on both batches) was crusty like a very light pie crust but the center was this delightfully tender cake. Great texture. I skipped the cream cheese topping and paired it with a rum buttercream instead...YUM. This will be a perfect for the holidays! And breakfast. And tuesday. And any other day of the year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I have been making this for 20 years & had lost the recipe. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I have used this recipie for over 20 years. Everyone loves it. I usually make these "enhancements": I add about 1/2 teaspoon of ginger 1/4 teaspoon of allspice to the flour mixture. 1/2 teaspoon of lemon extract to the cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My family loved this cake. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A favorite of my family's for many years, loved finding it here on All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillemap@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Almost perfect! Washington Apple Cake is my husband's FAVORITE, but I lost my recipe in summer flooding. This version seemed a little thicker in batter and didn't spread as well...I ended up making 1 1/2 batches to cover the 9X13. Otherwise, I'd very happy to have found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I loved this recipe! If you don't ice it with the cream cheese frosting it is equally delicious, just top with brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this cake for a family gathering for the first time and it was a big hit. I served the cream cheese frosting on the side since it wasn't even needed and left it optional. I used 1 egg and 2 eggs substitutes in addition to canola oil. I have made a lot of cakes from this site but this is now one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States