Washabinaros Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
excellent standard type chili. Not sure all the fancy stuff (like wasabi) made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
We LOVED this chili!! I couldn't find wasabi paste so ommitted it. Also used half the chili powder and cumin called for and doubled the tomatoes. Great flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I tried this because we love wasabi! I added about 1/2 a pound of stew meat in with the sausage and ground beef. I didn't have habanero so I substituted a jalapeno. I used 3 different types of beans; kidney, black and chili. My beer was Guinness. It was delicious!! I always drain and rinse my beans (with the exception of chili beans) but I was still leery about it being too thin based on other reviews. However, I left the lid off for the last 45 minutes and the consistency was perfect. Now I have found two chili recipes on this site that it will be difficult to choose between. Woe is me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
my wife has declared this the best chile I've ever made. the sauce was a nice blend of hot and sweet. I used about 5 smallish and very mature Serrano peppers, and since this is the only source of the heat along with wasabi powder, it was not overly spicy. The sauce overall was very complex. It will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Excellent chili! Upped the sausage to 1 lb, used a jalapeno because the store didn't have any habanero, and subbed out one can of kidney beans for a can of pinto. When making again I would drain the liquid after cooking the meat per another review, since the chili was a bit oily. Served with skillet cornbread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe makes some epic chili as is, but I do usualy substitute one bottle of Youngs Chocolate Stout for the beer and I don't bother with the coffee since the Youngs is coffee/chocolatey flavored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I love this recipe. 2nd time I made it and I didn't use the oil as recommended. I only used about 2 tablespoons of olive oil - 1 for the garlic onion and 1 for the peppers. The meat throws plenty of grease. I drained the garlic/onion/meat before continuing. I just love the flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
By far best chili we have ever had. Everyone who tastes it when we make it-loves it and asks for recipe! Such a bold flavor with the coffee, beer, and wasabi! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
absolutely the best flavored chilli, I have ever made and I do make a lot of chilli in particularly through the winter. If I have one complaint it might be to have it a little thicker, but it makes a great thick hearty soup too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This chili is awesome. I've made it countless times and have come to customize it so my picky hubby can enjoy it. I leave the sugar out and use sweet red and green bell peppers. He likes the flavor just as long as I leave the hot peppers out. O well...Everything else stays the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States