Wasabi and Shrimp Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I love wasabi!!! This recipe was so easy to make and turned out fantastic, everyone was so impressed! I toasted the sesame seeds and doubled the amount of wasabi. I used 1/2 low fat cream cheese, and half regular. The secret to shaping it into a perfect ball is chilling it for several hours before trying to shape it and roll it in the seeds. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this!! I made it with Krab & it tasted like a crab rangoon with dipping sauce. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
yum, yum, yum. i only used one box of cream cheese, i didn't want leftovers. i used frozen salad shrimp. i added 3 or more tblsp of wasabi, cuz we like it hot. also, i rolled it in slivered almonds instead of sesame seeds, just for fun. husband says it's the best cheese ball ever! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I cut this in half....except would go ahead and use the whole can of shrimp with just one thing of cream cheese. Anyway...to mold...I lined a small plastic bowl with saran wrap and put the mixture in that...stuck it back in the fridge for a couple of hours....then carefully pressed it into the sesame seeds. It came out more like a "round" rather than a "ball". Good though!...OK...I made this again for a dinner party and they loved it....I used low fat cream cheese (just one 8 oz package)...3/4 can of shrimp...3/4 can of chopped water chestnuts...and 1 +-teaspoon of this ready to use (and very potent) wasabi paste...let that stay in fridge overnight....then roll it in the toasted sesame seeds when you're reasy to serve....stays in a ball shape just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
FANTASTIC!! The flavor is outstanding. My only problem was shaping it into a ball. I used regular cream cheese. However, we will eat it with a spoon if we have to. LOL! Thanks Scout's box! Makes wonderful spread on a sandwich too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
We loved it with 1 1/2 TBSP of wasabi paste and next time I'll put the full 2 TBSP in. But I didn't make it into a cheese ball. Instead I add a smidgeon of milk to make it into dip. We were dipping with pretzels and crackers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
When I made this the first time, I realized later that I had bought LOW fat cream cheese and not FAT FREE. It rolled great that time, but not in later attempts. I think the amount of soy sauce and the moisture on the shrimps makes a big difference. Just as a note, I nuked it at a potluck recently and kept it in a small warming dish. Talk about eating it with a spoon. LOTS o WASABI is a gooooood thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hoteamom
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Adjust the amount of wasabi to suite your taste. Awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Very good! I had no problem shaping it and I would definally add more wasabi if you would like it hot. I think it could benifit greatly from maybe a duck sauce drizzled on top or something to bring out flavors. But it was different and worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Winburne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This was very good, based on a few changes I made. I added a lot of wasabi. I also added minced ginger and garlic (about a tsp each). Added a tablespoon or so of sesame oil. There is no way this could be shaped into a ball - I just mixed the sesame seeds in and used as a dip. Went extremely well with sesame sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States