Wasabi Trout Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This is a creative spin on trout, without question!! An excellent pairing trout/wasabi!! So, I prepared it first to the letter. (Really respected the original recipe for its creativity) And it was really good, but any Asian inspired fish recipe without ginger is lacking something, in my opinion. The recipe was good just not memorable. Found out trout really is an excellent fish to accompany wasabi! It's mild flavor lends itself well, and does not need a full-blown teriyaki or overpowering marinade. The second time I adjusted by adding a tsp of ginger, substituting sesame oil for olive oil, added 4 teaspoons of brown sugar and finally swapping parsley for oregano! Lastly, as other reviewer's recommended I added additional wasabi. Give it a try, but I really believe it needs the ginger at the very least and brown sugar binds the sauce adding a shimmer and is well suited as a glaze. The extra wasabi should be added, per your own taste and sesame oil is kind of a no-brainer being that it is an Asian inspired recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JimR
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Very good! I used this on Swai and it came out very nice, a little soupy in the baking dish (probably from my fish choice). I will use a broiler pan or a rack to keep the fish up a bit next time. Agree with other posters - More Wasabi, little less soy, and maybe some sugar for a nice glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I catch and cook trout once a week and this is now my new favorite. If you remotely enjoy sushi you will love this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trejo_lady
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This was amazing. I didn't have wasabi paste, so I used wasabi mayonnaise I had. The smell coming from my oven was delicious from the time I placed in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Here are some adjustments i made to make it taste a little more asian. replace olive oil with sesame oil, omit oregano and cajun seasoning, add a teaspoon of umeboshi (japanese pickled plum) paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Collver
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Doubled the wasabi as suggested by other reviewers. I want to put this on EVERYTHING :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I added a little sugar to the glaze just because I like my trout sweet, and I used 3 tsp of wasabi, and it was great! My guest enjoyed too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
We loved it, what a great way to have my teen learn to love fish even more. I also doubled the wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have tried this recipe some time ago, and now I make it almost every week. Excellent recipe but best made as written, using trout and not white fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I increased the wasabi as suggested. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Trout

See the best, most delicious, and simplest way to cook trout.

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States