Wasabi Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I don't know if I did this wrong or what.. but I did not care for it. I'm usually able to salvage anything by adding this or that but man.. I can't make this better. My Wasabi powder is about a year old.. maybe it's not good anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I followed the recipe then had my family taste it. We all agreed it was missing something. I added a few table spoons of teriyaki sauce and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I needed some kind of a sauce to use on my salmon burgers and ran across this recipe. It went nicely with the burgers. Like another review, I did have to use paste versus powdered wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This isn't too bad. I used wasabi paste instead of powder so used about 1/3 of the amount called for. I also used minced dried onion instead of green onion since I don't have any of that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
great over salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I really did not like this sauce at all. My husband wanted to try something different with crabcakes other than the traditional tartar I usually make. We tasted it before hand and it was way too intense. So, he took just a teaspoon and thinned it out with more mayo and it still was too intense. It would probably be good on a burger but not seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I admit, I didn't expect much, but found this sauce to be interesting and TASTY. Easy to throw together. Will make this one again and again, this recipe is a keeper in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I made this as directed with the wasabi powder. We used it with salmon and enjoyed it. The taste is not for the faint of heart. My husband suggested I add a little Spenda/sugar and that helped to cut the mustard taste. I would cut the mustard to one teas or not at all. Otherwise, we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Execellent new tartar sauce/cocktail sauce I added to my recipe file. Severd it with a walnut crusted salmon. The sweet/hot together woke up the taste buds. Not a sauce to be spread on your fish and baked! It is meant to be served as a side dipping sauce. I tried to make it with yellow mustard once, and it wasn't as good. It needs the Dijon mustard. Hubby and friends really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I'm not usually one to rate things online, but this sauce was completely awful on seared tuna. You'd be much better off just using dijon mustard. The wasabi brought a very unappetizing bitterness to the fish. I'd recommend that you try this in a one-person quantity first instead of the default 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States