Wasabi Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I needed some kind of a sauce to use on my salmon burgers and ran across this recipe. It went nicely with the burgers. Like another review, I did have to use paste versus powdered wasabi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2003
We loved it as a dipping sauce for shrimp cocktail! I used 1 teaspoon of wasabi paste instead of the powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Execellent new tartar sauce/cocktail sauce I added to my recipe file. Severd it with a walnut crusted salmon. The sweet/hot together woke up the taste buds. Not a sauce to be spread on your fish and baked! It is meant to be served as a side dipping sauce. I tried to make it with yellow mustard once, and it wasn't as good. It needs the Dijon mustard. Hubby and friends really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I made this as directed with the wasabi powder. We used it with salmon and enjoyed it. The taste is not for the faint of heart. My husband suggested I add a little Spenda/sugar and that helped to cut the mustard taste. I would cut the mustard to one teas or not at all. Otherwise, we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I really did not like this sauce at all. My husband wanted to try something different with crabcakes other than the traditional tartar I usually make. We tasted it before hand and it was way too intense. So, he took just a teaspoon and thinned it out with more mayo and it still was too intense. It would probably be good on a burger but not seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I admit, I didn't expect much, but found this sauce to be interesting and TASTY. Easy to throw together. Will make this one again and again, this recipe is a keeper in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
I'm not usually one to rate things online, but this sauce was completely awful on seared tuna. You'd be much better off just using dijon mustard. The wasabi brought a very unappetizing bitterness to the fish. I'd recommend that you try this in a one-person quantity first instead of the default 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
great over salmon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This isn't too bad. I used wasabi paste instead of powder so used about 1/3 of the amount called for. I also used minced dried onion instead of green onion since I don't have any of that. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I don't know if I did this wrong or what.. but I did not care for it. I'm usually able to salvage anything by adding this or that but man.. I can't make this better. My Wasabi powder is about a year old.. maybe it's not good anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

The Best Thai Peanut Sauce

See how to make a simple no-cook peanut sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States