Wasabi Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Cooking Up Something

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Woah, is this spicy! I was in a hurry, so for convinence I used minced garlic instead of oven roasted, and instant mashed potatoes. Doubt I'll give this another try, but if I do, I'll use less wasabi. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Not as good as some of the ones i've had in restuarants, but then again, i'm not a great cook. I used paste instead powder, but ended up wisking some powder and water in the end b/c the paste wasn't enough. will make again, with practice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crossfitgirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rural Retreat, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I love wasabi and I love mashed potatoes, so this was a natural choice! Very good. I have made this a few times since I first tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
We really enjoyed this. Used lots of garlic and used Wasabi paste instead of powder. It had a nice flavor for those that like some punch! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Definetly increase the wasabi. I had to double it to get the flavor to come through. I used a red potatoe and I think it would actually have been better using a standard russet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
My daughter, a Sushi chef, sent me this. We thought it was great. I read reviews and kept remembering on thing a Sushi Chef told me almost 30 years ago - the wasabi served with sushi is hot or not depending on the chef's mood when it is made. For those that wanted more spicy potatoes, maybe try making this while in a bad mood. And vice versa. We added a bit more powder. As too our liking, not my mood at the time....!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These were pretty good. My first experience with wasabi mashed potatos. The wasabi was very mild even though I did add a little bit more. Excellent flavor with just a hint of burn. Very nice change up. My kids even ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I had wasabi paste, not powder, so I just added that to the roasted garlic instead. The flavor was mild even though I only used 6 potatoes instead of 12. With the paste, the flavor just barely came through, which actually worked out just fine 'cuz otherwise my kids would not have gobbled them up! VERY good and definitely a make-again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
YUM. I love mashed potatoes, and I love wasabi. I made the recipe with chopped garlic rather than roasted, and I added extra (and lots of it) wasabi paste. This was perfect with Firecracker Salmon and Japanese Zucchini from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States