Wasabi Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Is no one else shocked at the amount of butter in these? Also, since most of the reviewers added more garlic and more wasabi, I'm not even going to bother using this recipe. The last time I made wasabi mashed potatoes, I just added some wasabi paste* to regular mashed potatoes and they were great. I just thought I'd look and see if anyone did anything markedly different. (*Which, btw, is simply made mixing powdered wasabi with a bit of water - if you're using REAL wasabi, you've obviously got cash burning a whole in your pocket.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My fiance made these to the recipe, and we tasted them and decided they needed much more of a "punch". Wound up adding about another teaspoon of wasabi powder before they had any proper zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I followed the reviewer's advice who mixed wasabi with sour cream (1-1 1/4T wasabi to 1/2c sour cream) and then stirred into the potatoes. I did also use some butter, but only 1 stick. I think you could get away without it if you use sour cream (or you could probably use margarine instead), but I do like the added richness, and I don't often eat mashed potatoes, so I splurged this time. I also did not bother roasting the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Made just a few adjustments to this. First, I only roast the garlic for 20 minutes so it doesn't loose most of it's flavor. The time is still long enough to get the garlic nice and soft. I use between 2-4 tsp of wasabi paste...depending on how many potatoes I am making. I start with 2 tsp and if it needs more, I add until I get it to where I like it. I also add 2 spoonfuls of horseradish as well. Like the wasabi paste, if you think that might be too much, start with one spoon and see how it tastes. The combo blends well together and isn't over the top in regards to being too spicey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
My horseradish-loving husband thought these were great. My teenager did not. I served them with Asian Style Country Ribs from this site and thought they were a great alternative to rice or noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used crushed wasabi peas (which are great on their own too) instead of the powder, red potatoes with skin on, and also added chopped green onion. It tasted sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tessangel28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is not your traditional mashed. I didn't like the garlic and spicy flavor so I guess I'm a mashed potato traditionalist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittne Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
So delicious! I ended up adding double the wasabi. It was so tasty it didn't need any butter or gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This recipe has a kick if you ADD more of everything! For 2 servings, I used: 1 T wasabi powder; 1/3 cup butter; 2 t. minced garlic; 1/4 - 1/2 c. milk; no water. Makes it nice and creamy and spicy. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I completely love these mashed potatoes but with a few changes. I have made them 5 or 6 times now with wasabi paste, or horseradish wasabi paste instead of wasabi powder. I also use minced garlic just because it's easier. I have served them to several different groups of people, all with rave reviews!! Everyone has loved them. The horseradish wasabi paste is the overall favorite. Perfect with ahi tuna! I crave them on a regular basis now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States