Warm Steak and Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
We've been making a salad similar to this for years. Try adding feta or blue cheese. Also, to make things simpler, we bake frozen french fries instead of preparing the new potatoes...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Excellent!!! Like others have stated, you need to at least double the dressing. I also added a little Splenda to the dressing to offset the tartness of the red wine vinegar. We were so impressed with this meal we repeated it again the following night! Thnak you "frank11" for submitting and sharing this recipe; it is appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My girlfriend's diet steered me to this recipe. She absolutely loved it. Didn't have shallots, so used 3 parts minced onion to one part minced garlic, and used majoram instead of tarragon because I didn't have tarragon. I was concerned she might not like the dressing because of her aversion to mustard, but I cut it back a little, and she didn't even know it was there. Other reviewers said the posted dressing measurements made only one serving instead of four...I agree, it made barely one serving for my taste. Thanks, Frank...I made mucho brownie points with the little lady on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cuero, Texas, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Very good. I added fresh dill and used italian seasoning instead of tarragon. I added different vegetables to the salad. I would use this dressing on a regular salad as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
FABULOUS!! Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Wonderful! Thank you for this recipe! I doubled the dressing as suggested. This is a wonderful well balanced healthy meal!! Thanks again. Will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Simple, easy, refreshingly yum winter type salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Simple and excellent mustard dressing make this a very good meal. I thicken the dressing a bit and kick it up with two to three times the amount of dijon. So tasty. That is all this recipe stands out for. Otherwise, it is a simple salad, and simple steak. If you need a bit more flavor, cook your steak on a skillet with red wine, butter, peppercorns and garlic (or marinade over night if you must grill).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuclear Rich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
We were almost finished making this one before we discovered it was one salad rather than a "potato salad". (Maybe it would help to read the instructions entirely before starting!) I would have called it "Salad with Warm Steak and Potatoes". We loved the dressing over the steak, but would skip out on the potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoneSideways

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Didn't have any tarragon so used without but I'll try it next time to know which is better. Very easy recipe and looked wonderful on the plate as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Mustard Greens Salad

See how to make an intensely flavorful potato salad with spicy mustard greens.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States