Warm Heart Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Wonderful stew! I made it today for the first time, and it is awesome! Bold & flavorful if you are looking for some great flavor. I love to make soups and stews, especially in the Fall, and was loking for something a little different. I found it here! Thanks, Loolay, for a fantastic recipe! It is going in my "favorites" file, but I think I will rename it "Oktoberfest stew"! A good Pilsner with this one hits the spot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
It may sound like a strange recipe, but the broth turns out so flavorful! I used smoked sausage because I don't care for brats, and both times I used different a different combination of beans. Black-eyed peas, kidney beans and pinto beans are my favorite combination. This is going to be a staple in the colder months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Since I ventured across this recipe a couple of years ago, I have made this stew at least 10 times and my family loves it! Its wonderful on a cold/rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I loved this stew. My husband didn't like carrots in it so I made it again and used a small amount of pre-shredded carrots. He ate it 'like a man'. I'm sure it will be on our table many times this winter. Pansynan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
What a surprisingly great dish. Tried this using extra package of bratwursts I had on hand but substituted using beef stock for broth, canninelli beans for navy and dried basil for fresh. Husband who is picky loved it, will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This turned out delicious. I added a tablespoon each of Dijon mustard and white wine vinegar for extra flavor. I also added some Lil' Smokies I had leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yum! I didn't have carrots but I figured it would be a good addition to the flavor of the broth, so I used a bottle of carrot baby food! Sounds crazy but it worked in a pinch. Took this to a pot luck and got tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My husband and I loved this stew. I made it just as written, and it was wonderful. I gave some to a co-worker and she and her husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with this stew. Wasn't sure what to expect. Very good....thought the kraut and basil were good to offset each other. Guess the best compliment to say about this recipe is that I will be DEFINITELY making this a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leonardtown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This stew is excellent! Only a few small changes- I used soaked pinto beans in place of the canned beans, used beer brats (added excellent flavor), didn't have any carrots (but it would be great with most root veggies), and cooked it on the stove (first in a stock pot, then in a pressure cooker when I realized I hadn't put the beans up soon enough for a 6pm dinner). It was excellent with a slice of toasted crusty homemade bread, and I look forward to leftovers! This will certainly become a regular meal, and I'll probably even make a big batch and can it for quick winter lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States