Warm Heart Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
It may sound like a strange recipe, but the broth turns out so flavorful! I used smoked sausage because I don't care for brats, and both times I used different a different combination of beans. Black-eyed peas, kidney beans and pinto beans are my favorite combination. This is going to be a staple in the colder months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe! It's easy to make, the flavor was complex,without being overpowering. It did taste better the second day, primarily because some of the starch from the beans helped to thicken up the soup. I think next time I'll mash up an extra can of pinto beans and add it thicken it up a bit. A really nice stew/soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The only ingredient change I made to this recipe was using dried basil instead of fresh (I just didn't have any). I let this simmer on Low while I was at work all day. YUM. This was so so good. Filling and comforting on this particular snowy day. Can't wait to taste the leftovers. I can see this becoming a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This turned out delicious. I added a tablespoon each of Dijon mustard and white wine vinegar for extra flavor. I also added some Lil' Smokies I had leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CooperCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I prepared this exactly according to the instructions with only one change: I substituted Turkey Kielbasa Light (2 Packages chopped up like hamburger) and it was AWESOME! The whole family loved it and my wife even stated this was the kind of food you just keep eating because you can't stop. I served mine with Texas Toast (garlic bread) and a side sald and it was a wonderful meal. Highly Reccomend it! I will put this on our fall/winter menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My hubby and mother-in-law LOVED this. I thought it was tasty, but waaay too salty. I'm kinda picky about salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
very good! My husband has requested it again. I had some brats and also some smoked sausage so added both. This is good recipe to have as if you don't have one type of sausage or beans, you can easily substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Everyone ate this and liked it well enough but said it was missing an unknown ingredient. We think maybe smoked sausage or smoked kielbasa would have given this a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yum! I didn't have carrots but I figured it would be a good addition to the flavor of the broth, so I used a bottle of carrot baby food! Sounds crazy but it worked in a pinch. Took this to a pot luck and got tons of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My husband sure liked it. Added a potato and a bit of celery seed, but the recipe is perfect as-is. Tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States