Warm Heart Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I left out the sauerkraut and used kielbasa instead of brats. Other than that it tasted fantastic. Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
very good! My husband has requested it again. I had some brats and also some smoked sausage so added both. This is good recipe to have as if you don't have one type of sausage or beans, you can easily substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I ended up using a 15 bean mix instead. Did quick soak method then drained, rinsed, and cooked in homemade beef and turkey stock. Added 3 ribs of celery to the carrots and onion and cooked that in chicken broth before adding to beans. Used whole 14.5 oz can of kraut. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I prepared this exactly according to the instructions with only one change: I substituted Turkey Kielbasa Light (2 Packages chopped up like hamburger) and it was AWESOME! The whole family loved it and my wife even stated this was the kind of food you just keep eating because you can't stop. I served mine with Texas Toast (garlic bread) and a side sald and it was a wonderful meal. Highly Reccomend it! I will put this on our fall/winter menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was wonderful! Very easy to cook and good when you want something different but filling for supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Normally I would have passed this recipe over because of the kraut but I'm make my kids try new things so I had to suck it up and try it too. Boy was I surprised. This stew is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly as directed and was so happy wth the results. This is definatley going to be a winter staple in my home as well as a crowd pleaser at the next potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Herheim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: De Forest, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This stew is excellent! Only a few small changes- I used soaked pinto beans in place of the canned beans, used beer brats (added excellent flavor), didn't have any carrots (but it would be great with most root veggies), and cooked it on the stove (first in a stock pot, then in a pressure cooker when I realized I hadn't put the beans up soon enough for a 6pm dinner). It was excellent with a slice of toasted crusty homemade bread, and I look forward to leftovers! This will certainly become a regular meal, and I'll probably even make a big batch and can it for quick winter lunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My hubby and mother-in-law LOVED this. I thought it was tasty, but waaay too salty. I'm kinda picky about salt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JBNewcomb

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
The only ingredient change I made to this recipe was using dried basil instead of fresh (I just didn't have any). I let this simmer on Low while I was at work all day. YUM. This was so so good. Filling and comforting on this particular snowy day. Can't wait to taste the leftovers. I can see this becoming a staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Everyone ate this and liked it well enough but said it was missing an unknown ingredient. We think maybe smoked sausage or smoked kielbasa would have given this a higher rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States