Warm Greek Pita Sandwiches With Turkey and Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
Fantastic Recipe, we made it exactly as suggested and it was fantasic (a bit messy though) I served it with Feta Chunks and Cucumbers and Red Onions with a vinagrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was delicious and easy to make! The only change I made was adding more red wine vinegar to the cucumber sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
Light, refreshing and delicious. I used only yogurt, no mayo. Also, I added a pinch or two of sugar to both the yogurt sauce and the chicken mixture. It added extra flavor and softened the tartness. Would be great for a light summer meal with a good bottle of wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chantilly, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Its very hard to please my family when it comes to "New Recipe" night. Everyone loved this sandwich! When my son eats 4, that can tell you something. The cucumber sauce is very fresh tasting. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
good base just needs to be kick up alittle. mix in some feta, olives, all kinds of fun options
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is sooooo good. I didn't have plain yogurt, so I used 1 cup of low fat sour cream. I made my cucumber the way my Grandma made her cucumber salad. I pealed the cuke, sliced, then salted it and placed it in a bowl with a dish covering the slices. I then place a heavy object on the dish to press the cucumbers. You can leave it for an hour, or overnight in the refrigerator. This releases the juice and really brings out the flavor and crunch of the cucumbers. Since I'd already salted the cucumbers, I didn't add any more salt. This tasted just like a low fat version of Greek Gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA LASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Redgranite, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Amazing! I was looking for something to make with leftover rotisserie turkey and Tzatziki sauce I had bought from a Lebonnese family at my local farmer's market. What a perfect recipe! Thanks Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
SO DELICIOUS! My boyfriend raved over these sammys. They're so easy to make, too. I bought a small oven roasted turkey breast and shredded that, the first time I made it. The second time I used left over baked chicken breasts. Both times were phenomenal. I use a whole cucumber and shred it on a cheese grater. This is one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes.com. Thank you thank you thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Excellent, easy and fresh. My husband actually made this as an alternative to the normal left-over thanksgiving turkey meals. I added some sliced black olives that were also leftover. I think a few sliced green onions would add a little zip. I loved the cucumber sauce! You could use low-fat sour cream to decrease the fat content. Overall, a very good, fresh taste. We served it with fresh greek, feta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I used chicken breasts for this recipe and they were DELICIOUS! I would definitely make the Tzatziki sauce a day before and let it season in the fridge. A truly delicious recipe and a way to have healthy homemade gyros!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States