Warm Greek Pita Sandwiches With Turkey and Cucumber-Yogurt Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I'm very picky about trying new recipes. Tonight, while browsing through recipes for leftover turkey- this one stood out. My instinct proved correct! It is amazingly good, simple enough, and a totally different way to use up that leftover turkey (Or chicken, for that matter)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Instead of using turkey, I used a whole roasted chicken and pulled the meat apart to not quite shredded. I also added a splash of lemon juice and additional garlic to the cucumber sauce to make it just a little zippier. As a tip: You can warm pitas by toasting them directly on a (very clean) stove burner for just a few seconds per side on medium to high heat which is how a lot of people warm up their pitas at home--sounds weird but works perfectly :o) Or you can use an indoor grill for the same effect. If you're going to heat pitas up in an oven just as they are--you may want to wrap them in tin foil to help retain their moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
The 7 minutes made my pita way too crunchy. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
We loved this recipe. I did use chicken instead of turkey because that is what I had available...this is a fantastic spring/summer lunch. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
We really liked everything in this recipe except for the turkey, we will use chicken in the future, and to save time we are going to use the chicken pieces that can be found in the deli section of a grocery store...other than that we loved the recipe is was very fresh and had a great mix of different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Wonderful recipe! Nice for a summertime lunch. Good flavour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Yummy Yummy, my husband thought the cucumber sauce was too sweet, but I thought it was really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Wonderful lunch. I used fat free sour cream and fat free yogurt and English cucumber in the dressing. I also left out the oil. I stuffed the pita halves and froze them. The night before work, I put this in my lunch bag with a container of lettuce and tomatoes as well as a container of dip. Nuked the sandwich for lunch for one minute, assembled and devoured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
This was so good!!! I used the leftover trukey from thanksgiving dinner. The only thing I would change is to make more so that we had leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I used chicken breasts for this recipe and they were DELICIOUS! I would definitely make the Tzatziki sauce a day before and let it season in the fridge. A truly delicious recipe and a way to have healthy homemade gyros!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

How to Make Turkey Sloppy Joes

See how to make a delicious Sloppy Joe with ground turkey!

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States