Warm Brussels Sprout, Bacon and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
YUM! Needs a little salt, and I left out the caraway seeds. Very tasty, although I used olive oil instead of veggie oil and basalmic insteat of white wine vinegar. I doubt that it made that much of a difference. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I like any recipe with brussel sprouts in it so this one really caught my eye - I changed it to a cold salad, and when I took out the bacon, I left the drippings in the skillet and added a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts - sautéed them for about a minute, then added the walnuts to a bowl with 4 TBS brown sugar and gave them thorough coating and then put them in the freezer for 20 minutes along with the bacon bits. For the brussel sprouts I took frozen sprouts, soaked in hot water until they are cuttable and halved them, then steamed them in the micro for about one minute, then put them in the fridge to cool. I tossed the salad with the sprouts, bacon and sugar coated walnuts and served them chilled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I don't often find interesting brussel sprouts recipes...I don't care for carraway seeds so I substituted toasted sesame seeds and I added carmalized onions and my family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
I added onion as the recipe made me think of german potato salad which has onion. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
CARAWAY SEEDS STINK- USE SAGE AND IT'S AWESOME .THAT'S MY STORY AND I'M STICKIN' TO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This was so good!! My sister in law made this and we chowed down. I love fresh and even frozen brussel sprouts. She made this without the caraway seeds but we are gonna make it again and then add them to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was just okay, though I give points for the idea of thinly slicing the brussel sprouts - now I'll do that any time I prepare them! It could be because I'm not crazy about caraway seed, except in rye bread or (with a light hand) in sauerkraut. I would make this again, but leave out that particular seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
i made these for xmas dinner and i do have a fussy lot in my house. they were all crazy about those brussell sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
This was awesome! Next time though, I will omit the caraway seeds, as the smell totally turns me off. But even with them, once I tasted, they were soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIERRAMUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
all the stuff my family loves..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States