Warm Brussels Sprout, Bacon and Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
This was just okay, though I give points for the idea of thinly slicing the brussel sprouts - now I'll do that any time I prepare them! It could be because I'm not crazy about caraway seed, except in rye bread or (with a light hand) in sauerkraut. I would make this again, but leave out that particular seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I don't often find interesting brussel sprouts recipes...I don't care for carraway seeds so I substituted toasted sesame seeds and I added carmalized onions and my family and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I like any recipe with brussel sprouts in it so this one really caught my eye - I changed it to a cold salad, and when I took out the bacon, I left the drippings in the skillet and added a 1/4 cup of chopped walnuts - sautéed them for about a minute, then added the walnuts to a bowl with 4 TBS brown sugar and gave them thorough coating and then put them in the freezer for 20 minutes along with the bacon bits. For the brussel sprouts I took frozen sprouts, soaked in hot water until they are cuttable and halved them, then steamed them in the micro for about one minute, then put them in the fridge to cool. I tossed the salad with the sprouts, bacon and sugar coated walnuts and served them chilled. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
i made these for xmas dinner and i do have a fussy lot in my house. they were all crazy about those brussell sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This was an okay recipe, but I did make a few changes (for the better I think - hence only 3 stars) ... I sliced the sprouts and steamed them in the microwave for 3 minutes ~ then saute'd them in the bacon fat. Removed them from the pan and then to the pan added about 1/2 cup vinegar, 1/4 cup olive oil and 1 1/2 tablespoons of sugar (more of a sweet and sour thing) .. heated that up, added the sprouts back in and mixed them - then dumped the spinach in and tossed to coat. Most of the spinach leaves were still on the "raw" side and those were good - the ones that were wilted I didn't care for at all. (I didn't add the caraway seed because I realized I didn't have any - though I don't think it would have made a difference) Thanks anyway, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Well Barrett, in our house caraway seeds definitely don't stink and they added a great layer of flavor to this already fantastic dish. Our two favorite vegies and the bacon dressing created a wonderful side. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
We are not Brussel Sprout eaters, but since I found some really fresh ones in the store, I decided to try this recipe. I did not use all the oil called for -just some of the bacon drippings (okay that's not the healthiest, but tasted good.) I used Splenda instead of sugar and seasoned rice vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar. After reading the reviews, I used only 1/2 teaspoon of the caraway seeds (and that was fine). I would suggest that you clean and slice the sprouts before steaming, otherwise they are soft and not easy to cut. We enjoyed this recipe even though my husband said he did not like sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWAIN_HARTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
CARAWAY SEEDS STINK- USE SAGE AND IT'S AWESOME .THAT'S MY STORY AND I'M STICKIN' TO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
This was edible, but I will not make again. I ommitted the caraway seeds. I thought the vinegar was too strong, not sweet enough, and I think I would prefer more of a mayonnaise dressing. My husband liked it. It made my 9 year old gag, but she doesn't like sprouts or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This was so good!! My sister in law made this and we chowed down. I love fresh and even frozen brussel sprouts. She made this without the caraway seeds but we are gonna make it again and then add them to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States